MEAC 50th Anniversary Logol

NORFOLK, Va., – The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) announced Friday five members of the 2021 Hall of Fame Class. The inductees will be enshrined in a virtual ceremony during the week of the 2021 MEAC Basketball Tournament.

“I would like to congratulate the 2021 Hall of Fame class for all their accomplishments, both athletically and professionally,” MEAC Commissioner Dr. Dennis E. Thomas said. “The honorees have made significant contributions to their families, communities, institutions and this conference. They are to be commended.”

The MEAC Hall of Fame highlights former student-athletes, coaches, university and conference administrators, as well as special contributors, who have enriched the legacy of the conference since its inception in 1970. Enshrinees were selected by an 11-person committee made up of administrators and representatives from member institutions.

The inaugural Hall of Fame class was inducted on May 29, 1981 during a 10-year anniversary banquet in Greensboro, N.C. Since its establishment, the MEAC Hall of Fame has enshrined 158 people, including the Class of 2021.

Related Content:

The 2021 MEAC Hall of Fame Inductees

Lamin Drammeh, South Carolina State: A 2014 inductee into the South Carolina State Athletics Hall of Fame, Drammeh was a five-time MEAC champion in the men’s long jump. He is a two-time Olympian, representing his native Gambia, West Africa in the 1996 Games in Atlanta and the 2000 Games in Sydney, Australia. Drammeh is the current school record holder in the indoor long jump (7.87 meters), and he was once the school record holder in the outdoor long jump.

Drammeh was also a triple jumper and a champion relay runner; he was part of the Bulldogs’ 4×100-meter relay team that won a MEAC championship and finished third at the prestigious Penn Relays. After graduation, Drammeh competed in the 1999 Mexico Grand Prix, the 2000 African Nationals (where he was a finalist in the long jump), the qualifying round of the World Indoor Championship in Barcelona, Spain in 2005 and the 2007 World Championship in Seville.

Demetrius Harrison, North Carolina A&T State: The Aggies’ all-time leader in career tackles with 497 (second-most in MEAC history), Harrison was a two-time MEAC Defensive Player of the Year (1988, 1989) and a three-time First Team All-MEAC selection (1987-89). As a junior in 1988, Harrison was named First Team All-American by the Associated Press, and he led the conference in tackles in both 1988 and 1989.

His 155 tackles in 1989 are the seventh-most in a single season in conference history, and Harrison was named Sheridan Black College National Defensive Player of the Year that season. Harrison, who led the Aggies in tackles all four seasons, was inducted into the North Carolina A&T State Athletics Hall of Fame in 2012, and he was recently named to the MEAC 50th Anniversary All-Time Football Team.

Lauren McCoy, Bethune-Cookman: A 2016 inductee into the Bethune-Cookman Athletics Hall of Fame, McCoy recorded three 20-win seasons in the circle as Bethune-Cookman softball became a MEAC dynasty and made NCAA history in 2005. That year, she led the Lady Wildcats to the NCAA Super Regional (the first time an HBCU advanced out of the regional round), winning the Gainesville Regional and going toe-to-toe with Cat Osterman in a 1-0 defeat to Texas after earning the MEAC’s first-ever at-large bid to the NCAA field.

A three-time First Team All-MEAC honoree (2003-05), McCoy threw five no-hitters in her career, including two perfect games, and she had an ERA of 1.70 or lower in each of her three seasons. McCoy ended her B-CU career with 456 strikeouts and 28 shutouts.

Rod Milstead, Delaware State: One of the most decorated football players in Delaware State history, Milstead was an offensive lineman for the Hornets from 1988-91 before embarking on an eight-year NFL career. A three-time First Team All-MEAC selection (1989-91), Milstead was a First Team All-American as named by the Associated Press, Walter Camp and Sheridan Black College in 1991.

During Milstead’s playing days in Dover, Del., the Hornets won the 1989 MEAC title outright, while also grabbing a share of the 1988 and 1991 championships. A 2003 inductee into the Delaware State Athletics Hall of Fame, Milstead was drafted by the Dallas Cowboys in the fifth round of the 1992 NFL Draft. In an NFL career that saw him play in Cleveland, San Francisco and Washington, Milstead won Super Bowl XXIX in 1995 with the 49ers. Since 2018, Milstead has served as head football coach at his alma mater, and he was recently named to the MEAC 50th Anniversary All-Time Football Team.

Allen Suber, Bethune-Cookman: The 2002 and 2003 MEAC Offensive Player of the Year, Suber was a First Team All-MEAC honoree at quarterback in 2001, 2002 and 2003. The two-time All-American was also a finalist for the Walter Payton Award, and he led the Wildcats to the 2002 MEAC championship and two appearances in the NCAA Division I FCS playoffs (2002, 2003).

Suber currently ranks first all-time in program history in rushing touchdowns, second in rushing yards and fifth in both passing yards and passing touchdowns. During Suber’s time under center as architect of head coach Alvin Wyatt Sr.’s offense, Bethune-Cookman went 42-15, and Suber was recently named to the MEAC’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Football Team.

Courtesy: MEAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here