As many as eight HBCU athletic programs face postseason ineligibility after the NCAA released its latest round of Academic Progress Rate report on Wednesday.

Among the notable schools that are ineligible for the postseason during the 2015-16 season include Alabama State and Florida A&M football.

Savannah State and Tennessee State football teams also could be banned from postseason play after receiving penalties.

FAMU was notified that its men’s basketball programs also face a postseason ban for not meeting NCAA minimum standards for APR.

The Alcorn State men’s basketball team, the Savannah State women’s basketball program and Mississippi Valley State’s baseball team were also hit with a postseason ban, the report said.

APRs for each school, lists of teams receiving public recognition and those receiving sanctions are available online through the NCAA’s searchable database.

Level One penalties focus on practice restrictions, allowing teams to use that time to focus on academics. Teams facing this penalty lose four hours and one day of practice time per week in season, replaced with academic activities.

Level Two penalties include the Level One penalty and a reduction of four hours of practice time out of season replaced with academic activities. This level also includes the elimination of the nonchampionship season or spring football. Teams without non championship seasons face a reduced number of contests.

Level Three penalties include all Level One and Two penalties, plus a menu of potential additional penalties. These can include financial aid reductions; additional practice and contest restrictions, coach-specific penalties (including game and recruiting restrictions); restricted access to practice for incoming students who fall below certain academic standards; restricted membership; and potential multi-year bans on postseason competition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here