BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Alabama State running back Malcolm Cyrus (Autaugaville, Ala./Autaugaville) has been added to the Walter Payton Award Watch List, announced Tuesday. The Payton Award honors the most outstanding player in the FCS.

Malcolm has rushed for over 100 yards in the Hornets last four games. His career-high 188 yard, three touchdown performance in the win at home against Arkansas-Pine Bluff (Sept. 18), is flanked by a 170-yard game in the upset of then No. 14 Tennessee State (Sept. 6) and a 163-yard performance in the win over Mississippi Valley State (Sept. 13). All three outings lead the league for single game totals.

The 5-10, senior is currently ranked nationally in eight different categories, including: total rushing yards (2nd), rushing yards per game (4th), scoring (7th), and rush yards per carry (8th).

There have been two winners from the Southwestern Athletic Conference since the award began in 1987, Walter Dean (Grambling State) in 1990, and Steve McNair (Alcorn State) in 1994.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here