Texas Southern forward Aaric Murray was named SWAC Player and Defensive Player of the Year according to a released issued by the conference announcing its postseason award winners and all-conference teams.

Averaging 21.7 points per game to lead the conference in scoring, Murray also averaged 7.7 rebounds per game.  Defensively, he led the conference in blocked shots (69) with an average of 2.4 per game.

Southern University players Calvin Godfrey and Tre’Lun Banks were named Newcomer of the Year and Freshman of the Year respectfully.

Godfrey averaged 13 points per game and was ranked second in the league with nine rebounds per contest. The center shot a league leading 56 percent from the field and is ranked fourth in the conference with a total of 46 blocked shots.

Banks led SU in assists and had a 1.4 assists to turnover ratio.  He notched a career high of 21 points twice and scored in double figures on 10 occasions.

Coach of the Year honors went to Southern’s Roman Banks who lead the Jaguars to a regular-season conference title with an overall record of 19-12.

First Team

G – Antwan Scott (Grambling State)
G – Malcolm Miller (Southern)
F – LeAntwan Luckett (Alcorn State)
F – Calvin Godfrey (Southern)
C – Aaric Murray (Texas Southern)

Second Team

G – Jamel Waters (Alabama State)
G – Julysses Nobles (Jackson State)
F – DaVon Haynes (Arkansas Pine Bluff)
F – Bobby Brown (Alabama State)
C-  Brandon West (Jackson State)

Player of the Year
Aaric Murray (Texas Southern)

Defensive Player of the Year
Aaric Murray (Texas Southern)

Newcomer of the Year
Calvin Godfrey (Southern)

Freshmen of the Year
Tre’Lun Banks (Southern)

Coach of the Year
Roman Banks (Southern)

All postseason award winners were selected based on votes by the conference’s coaches and sports information directors.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here