The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its women’s basketball postseason honors and all-conference teams Monday, and named Texas Southern’s Jazzmine Parker player of the year.

Parker led the SWAC in scoring averaging 19.2 points per game and scored 30 points or more five times during the regular season.

Alabama State’s Quentori Alford was named the conference’s defensive player of the year, Texas Southern’s Sarah Williams received newcomer of the year and Mississippi Valley State’s collected player of the year honors.

Southern University head coach Sandy Pugh was named coach of the year after leading her Lady Jaguars to a 16-2 conference record and a regular season championship title.

All postseason award winners were selected based on votes by the conference’s coaches and sports information directors.

Coach of the Year
Sandy Pugh – Southern

Player of the Year
Jazzmin Parker – Texas Southern

Defensive Player of the Year
Quentori Alford – Alabama State

Newcomer of the Year
Sarah Williams – Texas Southern

Freshman of the Year
Ashley Beals – Mississippi Valley State

First Team

G – Jazzmin Parker (Texas Southern)
G – Jeanette Jackson (Prairie View A&M)
F – Jasmine Jefferson  (Southern)
F – Ayanna Hardy-Fuller (Jackson State)
C – Quentori Alford (Alabama State)

Second Team

G – Tierro Frost (Alcorn State)
G – Joanna Miller (Grambling State)
F – Nakiya Smith (Alabama State)
F – Victoya Ricks (Grambling State)
C – Morgan Simmons (Texas Southern)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here