ROCK HILL, S.C. – Albany State won the 2016 Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Women’s Track & Field Championship and Benedict was crowned the Men’s Track & Field champion, Saturday afternoon at the Irwin Belk Track & Field Center at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C.

ASU totaled 196 points ahead of Benedict (170), Claflin (155), Clark Atlanta (112), Paine (63.5), Kentucky State (52), Central State (16), Miles (14), Tuskegee (12), Stillman (11), and Fort Valley State (7.5). Kenneth Taylor of Albany State was named the Women’s Coach of the Championship.

Benedict finished with 193.5 points followed by Morehouse (171), Albany State (147.5), Claflin (74), Stillman (73), Kentucky State (46), Tuskegee (35), Central State (27), Paine (26), Clark Atlanta (14), and Fort Valley State (8). Frank Hyland of Benedict was named the Men’s Coach of the Championship. [easyazon_infoblock align=”right” cart=”y” identifier=”B00WIZC9OU” locale=”US” tag=”hbcusports-20″]

Cervantes Jackson of Albany State received the Cleave Abbot Award after finishing with 53 individual points, the highest of any student-athlete during the three-day meet. Jackson was also selected as the Men’s Field MVP. On Saturday Jackson won the 110-meter hurdles (15.04) and javelin throw (162 feet, 7 inches),

Curshonne Johnson (Clark Atlanta) and Jenella John (Benedict) were named the Women’s Track Co-MVPs as they each tallied 31 points. John was first in the 1,500-meter run (5:12.25) and 800-meter run (2:14.63). Claflin’s Lashawnda Warren was tabbed the Women’s Field MVP during the championship. Warren won the pole vault on Saturday with a throw of 7 feet, 6 inches.

The Men’s Track MVP was awarded to Trey Simons of Morehouse who finished with 46 points. Simons won the 800-meter run (1:56.38) and 1500-meter run (4:01.99).

Trisana Fairweather of Claflin recorded a NCAA Division II automatic qualifying time of 23.43 in the 200-meter dash to win the event. She also won gold in the 400-meter dash (54.32) and recorded a NCAA Divison II provisional time. Fairweather also ran the fourth leg on the 4×100-meter relay team (Aliyah Miller, MaKayla Jackson, and Brenay Brown) that won the event (46.49) and notched a NCAA Division II provisional time.

On the men’s side, Stillman’s Dontavius Wright won the 400-meter dash with a recording breaking time of 45.12 which leads all of NCAA Division II. Wright also claimed gold in the 200-meter dash (21.18). Wright was a member of the 4×100-meter relay team (De’Mon Anderson, Christian Florence, and Solomon Atosona) that won gold with a NCAA Division II provisional time of 40.93.

Andre Watson of Benedict won the 100-meter dash (10.87). Benedict also seized gold in the men’s 5,000-meters (Dessie Demlew, 15:15.31), women’s 100-meter hurdles (Karel Ziketh, 14.42), and women’s discus throw (Ashley Harrell, 134 feet, 9 inches).

Albany State was also named conference champions in the women’s 100-meter dash (Ebone, Cobb, 12.24), women’s 5,000-meters (Aaliyah Howard, 20:48.50), women’s 4×400-meter relay (Mykeese Edwards, Irrion Conaler, Yasmine Reynolds, and Cobb, 3.46.75), women’s high jump (Philicia Batton, 5 five, 6 inches), and men’s high jump (Daniel Oduah, 6 feet, 10 inches).

Earl Lucas of Stillman finished with a time of 53.32 in the men’s 400-meter hurdles to win the event. MaKayla Jackson of Claflin was first in the women’s 400-meter hurdles (1:00.34). Both Lucas and Jackson posted NCAA Division II provisional times.

Claflin seized first in the women’s javelin throw (Jameelah Thalley, 111 feet, 9 inches) and men’s 4×400-meter relay team of Youshi Kirkland, Nicholas Williams, Brandon Vallentine-Parrish, and Odou Hazel with a time of 3:08.30.

Courtesy: SIAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here