Prairie View A&M
Photo: PVAMU Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Prairie View A&M was recognized as the winner of the 2020-21 James Frank Commissioner’s Cup Award by the SWAC on Wednesday. The James Frank Commissioner’s Cup and all-sports awards are determined by team finish in respective sports.  Each finish is awarded a point value and the schools with the highest point totals at the end of the athletic season are subsequently awarded.

Prairie View A&M also won the C.D. Henry Award after accumulating 70 total points on the men’s side. This marked the second consecutive year in which PVAMU claimed the male all-sports award.

In total, the Panthers won five SWAC championships this past athletic year (151.5 total points) claiming league titles in the sports of women’s bowling, women’s indoor track and field, men’s basketball, men’s golf and men’s outdoor track and field.

“I am excited as well as elated that we received such a prestige award in claiming the James Frank Commissioner’s Cup,” Prairie View A&M Athletic Director Dr. Donald Reed said. “Great job to all our student-athletes in their efforts for performing at a very high level during this most topsy-turvy and tumultuous time that we are all dealing with. It has been a pleasure watching our athletes compete and push through to be successful as students as well as athletes. I would also like to congratulate our coaches, the administration and all parties involved with providing us with the opportunity to compete.”

Also read: Prairie View A&M releases 2021 fall football schedule

Alabama State won the Sadie Magee/Barbara Jacket Award finishing with 90 total points in the women’s final standings. The Lady Hornets brought home women’s titles in the sports of women’s soccer, women’s tennis, women’s golf, women’s outdoor track and field and softball.

“The Southwestern Athletic Conference would like to congratulate Prairie View A&M University and Alabama State University for exemplary competition during an extremely unique athletic season,” said SWAC Commissioner Dr. Charles McClelland. “This past year both programs exemplified a high level of consistency along with unwavering dedication and resilience across a multitude of competing sports. We’re extremely pleased to recognize the impressive achievements of the student-athletes and athletic support staff at both institutions.”

A complete listing of final standings and individual program point totals for the three awards can be found below.

James Frank Commissioner’s Cup Award
1. Prairie View A&M- 151.5
2. Alabama State- 147.0
3. Jackson State- 117.5
4. Texas Southern- 94.5
5. Southern- 89.0
6. Alabama A&M- 86.0
7. Arkansas-Pine Bluff- 75.0
8. Alcorn State- 73.0
9. Grambling State- 67.0
10. Mississippi Valley State- 49.5

Magee/Jacket Award
1. Alabama State- 90.0
2. Prairie View A&M- 81.5 3.
Jackson State- 66.0
4. Southern- 61.0
5. Texas Southern- 49.0
6. Grambling State- 48.0
7. Alabama A&M- 45.5
8. Alcorn State- 41.5
9. Arkansas-Pine Bluff- 35.5
10. Mississippi Valley State- 24.0

C.D. Henry Award
1. Prairie View A&M- 70.0
2. Alabama State- 59.0
3. Jackson State- 51.5
4. Texas Southern- 45.5
5. Alabama A&M- 40.5
6. Arkansas-Pine Bluff- 39.5
7. Alcorn State- 31.5
8. Southern- 28.0
9. Mississippi Valley State- 25.5 1
0. Grambling State- 19.0

Prairie View A&M and the SWAC contributed to this report.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here