Photo: MEAC

GREENSBORO, N.C.— With as dominant a final day as a program can have, North Carolina A&T won its fourth consecutive Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference men’s outdoor track and field championship on Saturday at Irwin Belk Track.

The Aggies set a new meet record with 288 points. Norfolk State (174), Morgan State (84), Delaware State and Howard (62 each), North Carolina Central and South Carolina State (32 each) and Coppin State (29) rounded out the team standings.

North Carolina A&T State’s Javonte Harding was named the meet’s Outstanding Runner and Morgan State’s John Purvis was named Outstanding Field Performer, while Aggies head coach Duane Ross again took home Outstanding Coach honors.

The Aggies won every race on Saturday, which started off with Regan Kimtai taking gold in the 1,500 meters in 3:58.46. Morris Kimble, who also won the MEAC title in the 10,000 meters on Thursday, picked up another distance win on Saturday, taking the 5,000 meters in 5:13.31.

Harding won both the 100 and 200 meters, going 10.21 and 20.21, respectively, and he was also a part of the Aggies’ winning 4×100- and 4×400-meter relay squads. Harding ranks top-10 nationally in the 200 and top-20 in the 100 with those times.

Randolph Ross was also on that 4×100-meter relay team that won gold in 39.37, but he also won the 400 meters, turning in a 44.60 to edge out teammate Trevor Stewart.

That is currently the fourth-fastest time in the nation.

Rasheem Brown and Akeem Lindo won the 110-meter hurdles (13.61) and 400-meter hurdles (51.55), respectively, and Akeem Sirleaf and Daniel Stokes both ran on the winning 4×100 and 4×400 squads. The 4×400 turned in a 3:05.97.

Brown currently ranks top-15 nationally in the 110 hurdles.

Abbas Abbkar won the 800 meters for the Aggies, running a 1:49.65.

Norfolk State won the men’s decathlon, sweeping the four spots in the event as Camren Wynder-Hill took gold with 4,579 points.

Morgan State got a pair of field gold medals from Purvis, who won the shot put in 16.53 meters, and Kobe-Jordan Rhooms, who took the triple jump in 15.02 meters.

Dexter Ratliff of South Carolina State won the discus throw in 46.22 meters.

The top three finishers in each event were named All-MEAC.

First Team
Javonte Harding, NCAT (100m, 200m, 4×100, 4×400), Randolph Ross, NCAT (400m, 4×100), Abbas Abbkar, NCAT (800m), Regan Kimtai, NCAT (1,500m, Javelin), Rasheem Brown, NCAT (110h), Akeem Lindo, NCAT (400h), Akeem Sirleaf, NCAT (4×100, 4×400), Daniel Stokes, NCAT (4×100, 4×400), Elijah Young, NCAT (4×400), Albert Norman, DSU (3,000SC), Morris Kimble, NCAT (5,000m, 10,000m), Marvin Jones, NCCU (HJ), Malik Brown, MSU (PV), Brandon Hicklin, NCAT (LJ), John Purvis, MSU (Shot), Dexter Ratliff, SCSU (Discus), Ezra Montiero, HOW (Hammer), Camren Wynder-Hill, NSU (Dec)

Second Team
Daniel Stokes, NCAT (100m), Trevor Stewart, NCAT (200m, 400m), Mar’Quise McGee, NCAT (800m), Abbas Abbkar, NCAT (1,500m), Kameron Davis, HOW (110h), Brandy Felix, NCAT (400h), Kai Cole, NSU (4×100), Anthony Franklin, NSU (4×100), Savien Hayes, NSU (4×100), Keith Brown, NSU (4×100), Abayie Opuni, CSU (4×400), Malik John, CSU (4×400), Randy Serville, CSU (4×400), Amadou Ba, CSU (4×400), Jordan Richardson, NCAT (3,000SC), Albert Norman, DSU (5,000m), Meshack Kipchirchir, NSU (10,000m), Kobe-Jordan Rhooms, MSU (HJ), Jahquan Christopher, NSU (PV), Rodrick Cox-Cooper, NSU (LJ), Aaron Wilkerson, NCAT (Shot), Obie Taylor, NCAT (Discus), Kevin Fofanah, NCAT (Hammer), John Purvis, MSU (Javelin), Joshua Sutton, NSU (Dec)

Third Team
Kai Cole, NSU (100m), Daniel Stokes, NCAT (200m), Trequan Barnes, NSU (400m), Tyler Jeffers, SCSU (800m), Je’Shawn Walker, NSU (1,500m), Tayshaun Chisholm, DSU (110h), Earl Green, NCCU (400h), Malik John, CSU (4×100), Abayie Opuni, CSU (4×100), Aaron Lewis, CSU (4×100), Joseph Manu, CSU (4×100), Corinthians Payne, HOW (4×400), Kameron Davis, HOW (4×400), Casimir Tawiah, HOW (4×400), Qaseem Wajd, HOW (4×400), Meshack Kipchirchir, NSU (3,000SC, 5,000m), Isa Suleiman, NSU (10,000m), Dayani Johnson, SCSU (HJ), Derick Robinson, MSU (LJ, Javelin), Obie Taylor, NCAT (Shot), Emperor Campbell, DSU (Discus), Nnamdi Olebara, HOW (Hammer), Sadiq Nurse, NSU (Dec).

Courtesy: MEAC Sports  


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here