Charlotte, NC – The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) announces the 2019 Women’s  All-CIAA Team, All-Rookie team, and superlatives as selected by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association and Sports Information Directors Association. These standout individuals were formally recognized today during the annual CIAA Tip-Off Awards Breakfast.

Shareka McNeill, a sophomore guard from Virginia Union University, has been named Women’s CIAA Player of the Year. McNeill currently led the conference in scoring at 23.1 points per game during the regular season while ranking second in both three-pointers per game and three-point field goal percentage. The Charlotte, NC native ranks in the top 10 nationally in scoring while helping lead VUU to the best record in the CIAA along with regional and national rankings.

Bowie State University (Kyaja Williams and Pere Alexander), Elizabeth City State University (Jalyn Brown and Naterria Luster), and Winston-Salem State University (Amaya Tucker and Brionna Pate) each placed two student-athletes on the 2019 team. McNeil, Daisa Harris (Livingstone), Kwanza Murray (Lincoln (PA)), Yakima Clifton (Fayetteville State), Ashley Fields (Claflin), Danielle Weldon (Chowan) help complete the women’s team. Harris and McNeil make the team for the second consecutive year with Clifton earning league honors for the second time in three years.

Head Coach Shadae Swan of Bowie State University earned her first Coach of the Year honor. This season Coach Swan has led her team to a 14-3 record in conference play, the second-best mark in the CIAA while finishing with an overall record of 22-4 after being projected to finish fifth in the preseason poll by league coaches. Coming into this year’s tournament ranked the no. 2 seed in the Northern Division, Coach Swan and her Bulldogs are poised to challenge for this year’s conference tournament title.

Claflin University senior forward Ashley Fields has been named Women’s Defensive Player of the Year. Fields, a native of Charleston, SC, is tied atop the CIAA in steals and ranks among the league leaders in defensive rebounds per game and total rebounds. The 5-10 All-CIAA selection also the CIAA’s fourth-leading scorer at 16.1 points per game.

Rookie guard Amaya Tucker of Winston Salem State has earned Women’s Rookie of the Year honors. An All-CIAA and All-Rookie selection in her first year, Tucker is sixth in the CIAA in scoring at 15.9 points per game while leading the conference in three-point field goal percentage, third in three-point field goals made, and fifth in field goal percentage. The Winston-Salem, NC native leads all CIAA freshmen in the aforementioned categories.

Tucker, Dashia Jackson (Clafin), Asia Deal (Elizabeth City State), Jada Queen (Lincoln (PA)), & Ifunanya Okoye (Virginia Union) make up the Women’s All-Rookie team.

For more information regarding the 2019 CIAA Basketball Tournament, visit Follow the CIAA on social media via Facebook (TheCIAA), Twitter (@CIAAForLife), Instagram (@CIAASports), or download the CIAA mobile app available for Apple and Android devices.

Women’s Backcourt
Daisa Harris, Livingstone College
Shareka McNeill, Virginia Union University
Jalyn Brown, Elizabeth City State University
Kwanza Murray, Lincoln University
Amaya Tucker, Winston-Salem State University

Women’s Frontcourt
Brionna Pate, Winston-Salem State University
Yakima Clifton, Fayetteville State University
Ashley Fields, Claflin University
Naterria Luster, Elizabeth City State University
Kyaja Williams, Bowie State University
Danielle Weldon, Chowan University
Pere Alexander, Bowie State University

Women’s All-Rookie Team
Dashia Jackson, Claflin University
Amaya Tucker, Winston-Salem State University
Asia Deal, Elizabeth City State University
Jada Queen, Lincoln University (PA)
Ifunanya Okoye, Virginia Union University

Women’s Player of the Year – Shareka McNeill, Virginia Union University
Women’s Defensive Player of the Year – Ashley Fields, Claflin University
Women’s Coach of the Year – Shadae Swan, Bowie State University
Women’s Rookie of the Year – Amaya Tucker, Winston-Salem State University

Courtesy: CIAA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here