NEW ORLEANS, La. — Texas Southern captured back-to-back SWAC Baseball Championships with an 18-3 win over Grambling State in the title game on Sunday. It is the Tigers third baseball title in four seasons.

Texas Southern broke the ice in the bottom of the first. With runners on the corners, Jose Camacho grounded out to the shortstop, which allowed a run to Gaudencia Lucca to score to give TXSO the early lead.

In the bottom of the second, Grambling State answered. Marshawn Taylor singled up the middle, which allowed D’Quan Mathews to score, tying the score at 1-1.

Grambling State took the lead in the second. Ace Felder knocked in an RBI single to right field, which let Isaiah Torres score and give GSU the 2-1 advantage.

Texas Southern opened the game up in the third. With the bases loaded and no one out, Christian Sanchez hit a two-run single that gave Texas Southern the 3-2 advantage.

Later in the third, OJ Oloruntimilinhen hit a two-RBI single to center field, which gave Texas Southern a 6-2 lead. Kamren Dukes added an RBI single and Lucca added a tipple in the inning. The Tigers ended the inning by scoring nine runs, to make the score 10-2.

Texas Southern added a run in the fifth. Lucca hit a sacrifice fly to center, that allowed Kyle Van Kuren to score, which made it 11-2.

Texas Southern added three runs in the seventh, and four in the eighth, including a two-run home run by Christian Sanchez.

Oloruntimilehin was named the tournament MVP for Texas Southern. He went 2 for 4 with four RBIs and one run scored in the championship game.

The 2018 All-Tournament Team is below

All-Tournament Team

Dezmond Chumley — Jackson State

Wesley Reyes — Jackson State

Ray Hernandez — Alabama State

Yamil Pagan Alabama State

Steven Williams — Prairie View A&M

Ace Felder — Grambling State

Rafael Ramirez — Grambling State

Marshawn Taylor — Grambling State

Christian Sanchez — Texas Southern

Gaudencia Lucca — Texas Southern

Kamren Dukes — Texas Southern

OJ Oloruntimilehin — Texas Southern


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here