NORMAL, Ala. – The Texas Southern Tigers won the Southwestern Athletic Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships continued Saturday at Alabama A&M University’s Louis Crews Stadium.

In second was Jackson State with 106.50 points. Alabama State finished third with 106 points. Jackson State’s Bentrell McGee won the Most Outstanding Track Performer award, winning the 100m Dash, 110m Hurdles and 200m Dash events. Southern’s Reginald Redding won the Most Outstanding Field Performer, racking up 28 points through three events. [easyazon_infoblock align=”right” cart=”y” identifier=”B005WU5EEA” locale=”US” tag=”hbcusports-20″]

Clyde Duncan from Texas Southern was named Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Coach of the Year. Full standings, results from day three, and all-conference teams are listed below.

1. Texas Southern – 150.5
2. Jackson State – 106.50
3. Alabama State – 106
4. Southern – 102
5. Grambling State  – 89
6. Prairie View A&M – 80
7. Arkansas-Pine Bluff – 60
8. Alabama A&M – 55
9. Mississippi Valley – 48
10. Alcorn State – 12


Travis Sanders of Texas Southern prevailed in the men’s high jump, as he cleared 7-00.25 feet in the event (2.14m) in less tries than Grambling’s David Parker to earn the gold. Parker was second, and coming in third place was Dyrez Ribero of Alabama State (2.10m).

Jawalyn Brooks (Texas Southern) earned the victory in the pole vault with a clearance of 4.80m. In second was Southern’s Desmond Thomas with a height of 4.45m, and Texas Southern’s Cassius King passed 4.25m to earn third.

D’Andre Lewis of Texas Southern ran a 3:58.91 in the 1500m run to win the gold, and Jackson State took the remaining two spots went to Jackson State. Raheem Skinner (4:01.63) was second, and James Curtis (4:04.85) was third.

Terrance Jenkins, Justin Davis, Ryan Hall and Kevin Spraggins (Alabama State) won the 4x100m relay with a mark of 40.47 seconds. Southern finished second (40.65) and with a time of 40.77, Alabama A&M finished third.

With a toss of 48.05m, Jackson State’s Deshaun Allen won the gold medal in the Discus. Finishing second was Southern’s Reginald Redding (46.89m) and Roshaine Byfield of Alabama State was third with a throw of 42.74m.

Texas Southern swept the men’s triple jump, with Tevin Kimble (15.09m) winning the event. Harvey Kendall Jr. finished second with a leap of 14.94m, and Ian Williams Jr. (14.87m) was third.

Bentrell McGee of Jackson State clocked in at 14.08 seconds to claim the win in the 110m Hurdles. Shane Martin (Mississippi Valley State) was second at 14.33 seconds, and in third was Prairie View’s Logan Williams (14.47).

Jamael McTear (Grambling State) overtook Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Jerrel Wilson down the stretch to win the 400m dash. McTear won with a mark of 46.50, and Wilson was second with a time of 47.11. Texas Southern’s Darius Birden (47.24) was third.

Bentrell McGee was .05 away from a new conference record, winning the 100m dash in 10.19. Southern took the next two spots on the medal stand, with Tylor Lighten (10.42) in second and Darell Nettles (10.49) coming in third.

Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Malique Smith (1:53.30) was the winner of the men’s 800m run, with Bryont Brown of Alabama State (1:55.67) was the silver medalist, and in third place was Grambling’s Montieco Harris (1:57.82).

Justin Cooper (UAPB) was able to withstand a late surge from Prairie View’s Logan Williams to claim the gold in the 400m Hurdles. Cooper won with a time of 52.10 seconds. Williams finished second at 52.29, and in third was Alabama State’s Terrance Adams (53.50).

Bentrell McGee of Jackson State’s also won the 200m dash with a time of 20.57, Prairie View’s Samuel Omoera (20.93) was second, and in third was Grambling’s Jamael McTear (20.94).

Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s 4x400m Relay team – Jerrel Wilson, Justin Cooper, Malique Smith, Juwan Parker – won its event with a time of 3:10.11. Prairie View was second (3:13.12) and Alabama State finished third (3:14.00)

Hassan Chepkwony (Grambling)
Lawrence Williams (Southern)
Reginald Redding (Southern)
Maurice Jones (Alabama A&M)
Drayton Rolle (Texas Southern)
Romello Nalepa (Mississippi Valley)
Travis Sanders (Texas Southern)
Tevin Kimble (Texas Southern)
Bentrell McGee (Jackson State)
Deshaun Allen (Jackson State)
D’Andre Lewis (Texas Southern)
Justin Cooper (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Malique Smith (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Jamael McTear (Grambling)
Jawalyn Brooks (Texas Southern)
Jerrel Wilson (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Juwan Parker (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)

Aaron Albert (Mississippi Valley)
Miles Dortch (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Terrell Perry (Texas Southern)
O’Shane Shaw (Alabama State)
William Gordon (Alcorn State)
Harvey Kendall Jr. (Texas Southern)
Akil Bennett (Southern)
Aaron Austin (Prairie View)
David Parker (Grambling)
Samuel Omoera (Prairie View)
Logan Williams (Prairie View)
Bryont Brown (Alabama State)
Tylor Lighten (Southern)
Jerrel Wilson (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Shane Martin (Mississippi Valley)
Raheem Skinner (Jackson State)
Yanik Duffus (Southern)
Jaylin Thomas (Southern)
Darrell Nettles (Southern)
Desmond Thomas (Southern)
Darwin Allen (Prairie View)
Brandon Kirby (Prairie View)
William Polley (Prairie View)

Courtesy: SWAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here