Texas Southern senior guard Madarious Gibbs of  has been named Southwestern Athletic Conference Player of the Year.

Gibbs led TSU in scoring averaging 14 points per game and assists at 4.1 per outing.  The Newnan, Georgia native also led the SWAC in minutes played.

Twenty different times this season he’s scored in double figures.  His biggest output came in early February when he played an entire game against Alabama State posting 24 points, six rebounds and contributed five assists.

Two days later he notched a double-double with 17 points and 10 assists against Alabama A&M.  Gibbs was a huge factor in guiding the Tigers to the 2014-15 Regular Season Championship despite playing without other major contributors in Deverell Biggs (11.6 ppg) and Chris Thomas (12.3 ppg) at different intervals throughout the year.

Prairie View A&M center Reggis Onwukamuche was selected SWAC Defensive Player of the Year. Onwukamuche was first in the league in blocked shots with 50 (1.6 per game). His team was fourth in Field Goal Percentage Defense in the SWAC.  He achieved four or more blocks in a game five times this season.

Alabama A&M guard Ladarius Tabb was named Newcomer of the Year and Alabama State’s Steve Rogers Jr. claimed Freshman of the Year honors. Tabb led the SWAC in scoring (17.8) and rebounds (8.0).

Tabb was a four time Player of the Week honoree and scored 20 plus points ten times this season including four 30 plus point outputs. He scored a career high 33 points against Alcorn State.  Rogers led the conference in three point field goal percentage (.490) while also shooting 79 percent at the free throw line.

He scored a career high 26 points on 8-of-11 shooting including five threes against Prairie View earlier this season.

For the second time in three seasons, Texas Southern head coach Mike Davis earned Coach of the Year honors. Davis led the Tigers to a 19-12 record overall and a 16-2 SWAC mark, capturing the conference regular season crown. Davis was voted on as Coach of the Year in 2012 as well. 

Joining Gibbs on the first team is Alabama State guard Jamel Waters, Alcorn State forwards LeAntwan Luckett and Marquis Vance.  Nick West rounded out the first team at center.

On the second team are guards Ladarius Tabb of Alabama A&M and Marcel Mosley from Arkansas -Pine Bluff, forwards Maurice Strong of Alabama State and Adrian Rodgers of Southern. Reggis Onwukamuche rounded out the second team at center.

The All-SWAC basketball teams are voted on exclusively by the league’s coaches, Sports Information Directors, and selected media members.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Madarious Gibbs – Texas Southern

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR-  Reggis Onwukamuche – Prairie View

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR – Ladarius Tabb – Alabama A&M

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Steve Rogers – Alabama State

COACH OF THE YEAR – Mike Davis – Texas Southern

First Team
Guard Jamel Waters – Alabama State
Guard Madarious Gibbs – Texas Southern
Forward LeAntwan Luckett – Alcorn State
Forward Marquis Vance – Alcorn State
Center Nick West – Alabama A&M

Second Team
Guard Ladarius Tabb – Alabama A&M
Guard Marcel Mosley – Arkansas Pine Bluff
Forward Maurice Strong – Alabama State
Forward Adrian rodgers – Southern
Center Reggis Onwukamuche – Prairie View



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here