WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Saint Augustine’s University won its 18th consecutive men’s crown and Winston-Salem State University captured its second women’s title in five seasons on the final day of the CIAA Indoor Men’s and Women’s Track & Field Championships at JDL Fast Track on Monday, February 16, 2015.

The Saint Augustine’s men scored 164 points to finish ahead of Virginia State University, which placed second with 96 points. Virginia Union University was third with 93 points.

“It is all about tradition,” said Legendary Head Coach George Williams, who has guided the Falcons and Lady Falcons to 35 NCAA Division II indoor and outdoor titles combined. “The kids believed and performed to the best of their ability. It led to another championship.”

Winston-Salem State scored 140 points to win the women’s championship. Saint Augustine’s University placed second with 94.40 points and Johnson C. Smith University finished third with 58.20 points.

“I asked them to stay focused, stay determined and compete the same way as in previous meets this season,” said Winston-Salem State Head Coach Inez Turner, whose Lady Rams won the women’s title in 2011. “That’s what they did.”

Immanuel Hutchinson of Saint Augustine’s was named Men’s Track Most Valuable Performer. His teammate David Shaw of the Falcons was voted Men’s Field Most Valuable Performer. Hutchinson won the 800 meter run, the mile run and the 5000 meter run in addition to running on the winning 4×400 meter relay squad. Shaw won the triple jump and placed second in the long jump.

Tajanel McNeill of Winston-Salem State was named the Women’s Field Most Valuable Performer and Taylor-Ashley Bean of Virginia State was chosen the Women’s Track Most Valuable Performer. McNeill won the triple jump, was second in the long jump and third in the high jump. Bean won the mile run, was second in the 3000 meter run, placed third in the 800 meter run and was on the distance medley relay team which placed third. She also ran on the 4×400 meter relay team which was fifth.

The women’s winners were Shamia Lassiter of Saint Augustine’s (60 meter hurdles), Bean of Virginia State (one mile run), Quanera Hayes of Livingstone (200 meter dash, 400 meter run), McNeill of Winston-Salem State (triple jump), Shakera Hall of Saint Augustine’s (Pentathlon), Brionna Singleton of Virginia Union (high jump), Domtila Kiplagat of Winston-Salem State (3000 meter run), Raven Covington of Winston-Salem State (60 meter dash), the Johnson C. Smith 4×400 meter relay team, Fellan Ferguson of Johnson C. Smith (800 run), Ebony Moore of Livingstone (shot put), Shakinah Brooks of Saint Augustine’s (long jump) and the Winston-Salem State distance medley relay team.

The men’s winners were Hutchinson of Saint Augustine’s (800 meter run, one mile run, 5000 meter run), the Virginia Union distance medley relay team, Justin Williams of Virginia State (60 meter hurdles), Te’Shad Chambers of Virginia State (60 meter dash), Omar Johnson of Saint Augustine’s (400 meter run), Daniel Jamieson of Saint Augustine’s (200 meter dash), the Saint Augustine’s 4×400 meter relay team, Matthew Huckabee of The Lincoln (Pa.) (shot put), Jamaal Petty of Virginia Union (high jump), Hildrew McNair of Virginia State (pole vault), JaQuan Demiel of Saint Augustine’s (long jump), David Shaw of Saint Augustine’s (triple jump) and Aason Pankey of Saint Augustine’s (Heptathlon).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here