BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Alabama State University was picked to win the 2014-15 Southwestern Athletic Conference men’s basketball championship in a preseason poll of the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

The announcement was made by the SWAC during its annual media teleconference on Wednesday.

The Hornets return every player including all five starters from last season’s team that finished 19-13 overall and 12-6 in the conference which was a tie for second place. The season ended with the Hornets reaching the semifinals of the SWAC Tournament and receiving an invitation in the College Insider’s Tournament (CIT).

Last year’s regular season champion Southern University came in second place followed by last season’s SWAC Tournament Champion Texas Southern in third. Arkansas Pine Bluff was predicted to finish fourth with Alcorn State coming in fifth.

Rounding out the poll includes: Prairie View, Alabama A&M, Jackson State, Mississippi Valley State, and Grambling State.

2014-15 All-SWAC Preseason Men’s Basketball Team

The 2014-15 All-SWAC preseason first and second teams are highlighted by junior guard LeAntwan Luckett (Alcorn State) and senior center Luther Page (Alabama State). Luckett was selected as the SWAC Preseason Player of the Year with Page garnering the SWAC Preseason Defensive Player of the Year honor.

Luckett was second in the SWAC in scoring averaging 16 points per game. He scored in double figures 26 of his-31 contests, notched over 20 points nine times and picked up a career-high 31 points vs. Alabama State last season. Luckett also earned a career best six steals vs. Mississippi Valley State.

Page helped lead ASU defensively by holding its opponents under 70 points per game and improved their win total by nine games a season ago.

Page averaged seven points per game to go along with 5.1 rebounds per contest, which was 15th in the SWAC. He shot 49 percent from the field and also had 33 steals.

Additionally, both Luckett and Page were voted on as All-SWAC preseason first team selections.

Rounding out the squad list is guard, Jamel Waters (Alabama State), Montrael Scott (Prairie View), Bobby Brown (Alabama State).

The second team includes: guards Marcel Mosely (Arkansas Pine Bluff) and A’Torri Shine (Grambling State), forwards Jose Rodriquez (Texas Southern), and Marquis Vance (Alcorn State) with the Octavius Brown earning the center spot for Alcorn State as well.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here