SWACLogoBIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference has released its 2013 All-SWAC Women’s Soccer teams with Alabama State trio, Aaliyah Lewis, Ariela Lewis and Kylee Hathaway sweeping the individual accolades.

The selections were voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors. Twenty-five player’s total this year’s post season teams with freshman forward Aaliyah Lewis receiving Offensive Player of the Year. Lewis’ twin sister, midfielder Ariela, was selected Freshman of the Year while junior goalkeeper Kylee Hathaway was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. All three helped lead Alabama State to the program’s first SWAC Eastern Division crown with a 12-6 record and 4-0 mark in the conference. ASU closed out the regular season with a nine-game win streak.

Aaliyah Lewis led the SWAC and the Lady Hornets in goals (16), shots (61), shots per game (3.39), points (38), and points per game (2.1). Ariela Lewis topped the league in assists (9) and matched her sister in the SWAC in game-winning goals with three.

After completing last year on the SWAC Soccer Second Team, Hathaway finished 2013 with 107 saves and tied a league best in shutouts with five.

Alabama State leads the post season honors with seven student-athletes selected while six were named to the first team. Jackson State and Mississippi Valley State followed with three picks each. Prairie View A&M and Arkansas-Pine Bluff had two representatives with Texas Southern rounding the list out with one.

Aaliyah Lewis, Ariela Lewis and Kylee Hathaway also garnered first team honors and were joined by teammates Anastasia McCleary, Iita Pienimaki and Alexandria Cannon.

The first team also includes: Ana Huertas (Alabama A&M), Nykosi Simmons (Mississippi Valley State), Rayana Speight (Jackson State), Molly Stone (Arkansas-Pine Bluff) and Angie Guillory (Prairie View A&M).

Courtesy: SWAC.org


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here