CFPAlogoFour players from last season’s All-Southwestern Athletic Conference Football Team were named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) 2013 FCS Watch List.

Dray Joseph (QB – Southern), Lee Doss (WR – Southern), Ladarius Eckwood (WR – Arkansas-Pine Bluff) and Isaiah Crowell (RB – Alabama State) were named to CFPA Watch List for their respective positions after finishing last year ranked among the top in several offensive categories.

The announcements began Monday, May 6, and will continue after the list is completed to include defensive players and specialist.

Joseph (6-1, 213, Senior) led SU’s offense in passing with 2, 511 yards and 25 touchdowns. He completed 58.5 percent of his pass attempts on his way to earning a spot on the All-SWAC second team.He also led the league in passing average (228 ypg) and total offense (2,640 yards). He was also named to Bank of America Atlanta Classic and Bayou Classic MVP while completing the final three weeks of the season as the SWAC Offensive Player of the Week. The CFPA preliminary watch list highlights 32 returning quarterbacks.

Doss (6-2, 170, Senior) was named to the All-SWAC First Team after leading SU and the conference in receptions (65). He led the Jaguars in receiving yards (703) and touchdowns (8). He also led the SWAC in receptions per game (5.9).

Eckwood (6-1, 185, Senior) was tabbed All-SWAC Second Team leading UAPB to their first SWAC Football Championship title since 1966. He ranked fourth in the conference in receiving yards per game (65.6) and led the Golden Lions in every receiving category including receptions (52), receiving yards (787), and touchdowns (6).

Doss and Eckwood join 32 top wide receivers in the Football Championship Subdivision vying for the award.

Crowell (5-11, 190, Junior), the 2012 SWAC Newcomer of the Year, is among the 29 running backs named to the CFPA Watch List. He ranked third in the SWAC last season in rushing (842) yards and led the league in touchdowns (15). Crowell posted four 100-yard rushing games and was a three-time winner of the SWAC Newcomer of the Week Award.
All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration. The winner will be announced January 8, 2014.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here