GREENSBORO, N.C., — A dominant Saturday lifted North Carolina A&T State to the 2019 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) men’s outdoor track & field championship at the Irwin Belk Track.

The Aggies won their third straight outdoor title and sixth overall.

Duane Ross was named the meet’s Outstanding Coach. Bethune-Cookman’s Jeremiah Peters earned Outstanding Field Performer honors, while Wildcat Carlin Berryhill and Norfolk State’s Evans Cheruiyot were named Co-Outstanding Runners.

North Carolina A&T State also swept the season — winning the MEAC titles in men’s cross-country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field. They are the first MEAC program to accomplish that feat since the Hampton women did it in 2011-12.

The Aggies had 211 points to Bethune-Cookman’s 178. Norfolk State (135.5), Coppin State (58) and Morgan State (45.5) rounded out the top five in the team standings.

Trevor Stewart ran an NCAA-best 44.38 in winning gold in the 400 meters, which was the story of the day for the Aggies — who between field and running events took eight gold medals on Saturday alone. Rodney Rowe also shined, running a 20.12 — the second-fastest time in the NCAA — to take the 200 meters.

Rowe also won the 100 meters in 10.05, storming past Coppin State’s Joseph Amoah at the line and posting the NCAA’s fourth-fastest time.

The Aggies also took gold in the 4×400-meter relay, ending the day on a high note after running a 3:09.51. For North Carolina A&T State, which came into Saturday trailing Bethune-Cookman in the team standings, it was the punctuation of an impressive team-wide effort.

The first running gold medal of the day also went to North Carolina A&T State, which won the 4×100-meter relay in 39.14 — besting second-place Coppin State by .27 seconds. Regan Kimtai then won the men’s 1,500 meters in 3:55.00.

Lasheon Strozier of North Carolina A&T State won the triple jump with a distance of 15.36 meters (50 feet, 4.75 inches).

Dominic Harper of Bethune-Cookman successfully defended his MEAC title in the pole vault, clearing 4.47 meters (14 feet, eight inches) to take the gold medal.

Jaylen Banks of Norfolk State ran a 50.43 to win the 400-meter hurdles, while Cheruiyot added a gold medal in the 5,000 meters to his collection after running a 15:00.80.

Howard’s Mekhi Abbott won the javelin throw with a mark of 56.70 meters (186 feet).

Savannah State’s Abbas Abbkar ran a 1:51.26 to win the 800 meters.

The top three finishers in each event earned All-MEAC honors.

Outstanding Coach: Duane Ross, North Carolina A&T State
Outstanding Field Performer: Jeremiah Peters, Bethune-Cookman
Co-Outstanding Runners: Carlin Berryhill, Bethune-Cookman / Evans Cheruiyot, Norfolk State

Rodney Rowe, NCAT (100 m, 200 m, 4×100), Trevor Stewart, NCAT (400 m), Michael Dickson, NCAT (110h, 4×100), Abbas Abbkar, SSU (800), Regan Kimtai, NCAT (1,500), Malcolm Croom-McFadden, NCAT (4×100), Akeem Sirleaf, NCAT (4×100), Akeem Lindo, NCAT (4×400), Brandon Felix, NCAT (4×400), Chase Bonham, NCAT (4×400), Kermani Mighty, NCAT (4×400), Carlin Berryhill, B-CU (3,000SC), Evans Cheruiyot, NSU (5,000, 10,000), Jacob Milton, NSU (HJ), Dominic Harper, B-CU (PV), Bobby Price, NSU (LJ), Lasheon Strozier, NCAT (TJ), Aaron Wilkerson, NCAT (Shot), Jeremiah Peters, B-CU (Discus), Derrick Wheeler, NCAT (Hammer), Mekhi Abbott, HOW (Javelin), Marc McCoy, B-CU (Dec)

Demek Kemp, SCSU (100 m), Joseph Amoah, CSU (200 m, 4×100), Akeem Sirleaf, NCAT (400 m), Regan Kimtai, NCAT (800), Carlin Berryhill, B-CU (1,500), Keshaun Hodges, CSU (4×100), Theodore Westcarr, CSU (4×100), Joseph Manu (4×100), Andre Valcin, SSU (4×400), Abbas Abbkar, SSU (4×400), Morgan Ellis-Foster, SSU (4×400), Terrance Sessoms, SSU (4×400), Evans Cheruiyot, NSU (3,000SC), Meshack Kipchirchir, NSU (5,000, 10,000), Kelton Williams, B-CU (HJ), Joshua Goslee, MDES (PV), Brandon Hicklin, NCAT (LJ), Kobe-Jordan Rhooms, MSU (TJ), Jeremiah Peters, B-CU (Shot), Joshua Faison, NCAT (Discus), Kevin Fofanah, NCAT (Hammer), Festus Bett, NSU (Javelin), Brent Heholt, B-CU (Dec)

Joseph Amoah, CSU (100 m), Akeem Sirleaf, NCAT (200 m), Jordan Williams, B-CU (400 m, 4×400), Jonathan Robertson, MDES (800), Lelei Too, NSU (1,500), Kameron Hammond-Green, SCSU (4×100), Demek Kemp, SCSU (4×100), Malik Watson, SCSU (4×100), Daniel Seawright, SCSU (4×100), Mario Watson, B-CU (4×400), Deandre Petty, B-CU (4×400), Caleb Okwaraji, B-CU (4×400), Regan Kimtai, NCAT (800, 3,000SC), Anteneh Girma, NSU (5,000, 10,000), Omega Smalls, NCCU (HJ), Raquan Nelson, B-CU (PV), Daniel Seawright, SCSU (LJ), JaiQuan Earls, B-CU (TJ), Kurt Goodlitt, MSU (Shot, Javelin), Robert Duncan, DSU (Discus), Keno Tate, B-CU (Hammer), Shemar Parker, MDES (Dec)
Courtesy: MEAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here