MONTGOMERY, Ala. (SIAC) – Junior running back George Myers, Jr. of Benedict was named the 2016 Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Football Player of the Year (MVP) as voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

Senior quarterback Kevin Lacey (Tuskegee) was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year along with teammate Osband Thompson who was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. [easyazon_infoblock align=”right” cart=”y” identifier=”B00IX08NN0″ locale=”US” tag=”hbcusports-20″]

Quarterback Jules St. Ge (Kentucky State) earned the Freshman of the Year honor and senior quarterback Johnathon McCrary (Clark Atlanta) was named the Newcomer of the Year.

First-year head coach John L. Smith of Kentucky State was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Myers, a 5’6 junior from Hephzibah, Ga., led the conference this season in all-purpose yards (1,476) averaging 147.6 yards per game. He finished the year with five touchdowns and recorded 1,092 rushing yards. Myers set a school record for rushing with 235 yards against Central State on Sept. 17. Myers also finished with 222 yards over Lane on Oct. 8.

Lacey, a 6’6 senior from Wetumpka, Ala., threw 11 touchdowns in SIAC games to account for 1,277 yards. He completed 79-of-140 passes against conference opponents and averaged 182.4 yards per game. Lacey helped Tuskegee rise to fifth in the America Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Poll earlier this year which was the highest ranking in school history. He posted a career-high 300 yards and four touchdowns against Morehouse on Oct. 8. The three-time SIAC Player of the Week was added to Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) Player of the Year Watch List this season.

Thompson led the Golden Tigers throughout the season as the two-time SIAC Defensive Player of the Week and finished in double-digit tackles six times including 16 against Clark Atlanta. A BOXTOROW National Player of the Week selection, Thompson has 98 total tackles which ranks him in the top 20 in NCAA Division II. He has recorded 10 tackles for loss (9.5 in SIAC games) and 2.5 sacks. He also has three pass breakups, three quarterback hurries, has recovered a fumble and forced two. The 6’0 junior linebacker from Miami, Fla. also blocked a kick against Morehouse and recorded a safety against Clark Atlanta this year.

St. Ge started every SIAC game of the season for the Thorobreds who will be making their first SIAC Football Championship appearance on Nov. 12. The 6-1 freshman from Lakeland, Fla. has tallied 896 yards of total offense in his 2016 campaign. St. Ge has recorded six touchdowns and had his best game of the season against Fort Valley State where he completed 10-of-17 passes for 194 yards and a touchdown.

McCrary, a redshirt junior transfer from Decatur, Ga. led Clark Atlanta offensively throughout the season. He completed 142-of-256 passes for 1,903 yards and averaged 211.4 yards per game. McCrary also leads the SIAC with 14 touchdown passes. Against Morehouse he recorded 456 yards including five touchdowns.

In his first season, Smith led Kentucky State to the west division title with a 3-1 record in SIAC divisional games. The Thorobreds defeated nationally-ranked Tuskegee, 10-9 on the road on Oct. 22. KSU also took down the reigning SIAC football champions, Miles College 28-24 on Oct. 15. The Thorobreds will meet Fort Valley State in the championship game on Nov. 12 at 6 p.m. Earlier in the season KSU defeated Fort Valley State 28-10 at Wildcat Stadium.

Tuskegee led this year’s all-conference teams with eight selections which included seven first-team honorees.

2016 SIAC Football All-Conference First Team

Kevin Lacey Quarterback Tuskegee Senior Wetumpka, Ala.
Leo Gilbert Tight end Tuskegee Senior Miami, Fla.
Otis Brown Wide receiver Fort Valley State Senior Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
Trenton Earl Wide receiver Clark Atlanta Senior Detroit, Mich.
Marcus Holliday Running back Lane Junior Memphis, Tenn.
George Myers, Jr. Running back Benedict Junior Hephzibah, Ga.
Javoris Wilburn Offensive lineman Albany State Redshirt-Senior Warrenton, Ga.
Tedrick Cofield Offensive lineman Albany State Junior Atlanta, Ga.
Leeward Brown Offensive lineman Tuskegee Junior Miami, Fla.
Kelvin Shelton Offensive lineman Tuskegee Senior San Jacinto, Calif.
Tyshon Henderson Offensive lineman Clark Atlanta Redshirt-Junior Newark, N.J.
Whitney Richardson Defensive lineman Lane Junior Perkinston, Miss.
Julian Morgan Defensive lineman Tuskegee Senior Lithia Springs, Ga.
Grover Stewart Defensive lineman Albany State Senior Camilla, Ga.
Monte Taylor Defensive lineman Albany State Senior Springdale, Md.
David Smith Linebacker Morehouse Junior Newport News, Va.
Deonate Gary Linebacker Central State Senior Lakeland, Fla.
Osband Thompson Linebacker Tuskegee Junior Miami, Fla.
Brian Walker Defensive back Fort Valley State Senior Cairo, Ga.
Jonah McCutcheon Defensive back Tuskegee Junior Mobile, Ala.
Cedric Poole Defensive back Miles Senior Birmingham, Ala.
Edward Kirkland Defensive back Benedict Junior Columbia, S.C.
Nick Christiansen Kicker Miles Junior Clayton, N.C.
Juan Serna Punter Fort Valley State Junior Douglasville, Ga.
Ricci Nuckles Kick returner Morehouse Freshman Suwanee, Ga.
Cedric Poole Punt returner Miles Senior Birmingham, Ala.

2016 SIAC Football All-Conference Second Team

Johnathon McCrary Quarterback Clark Atlanta Redshirt-Junior Decatur, Ga.
Lake McGuffie Tight end Morehouse Senior Hampton, Ga.
Desmond Reece Wide receiver Tuskegee Senior Valley, Ala.
Okechi Ntiasagwe Wide receiver Benedict Junior Columbia, S.C.
De’Michael Jackson Running back Central State Senior Louisville, Ky.
Reginal Harris Running back Kentucky State Senior Miami, Fla.
Brian Cornish Offensive lineman Fort Valley State Senior Warner Robins, Ga.
Justin Brown Offensive lineman Benedict Sophomore Marietta, Ga.
Howard Bush Offensive lineman Lane Junior Mobile, Ala.
Marcus Campbell, Jr. Offensive lineman Kentucky State Sophomore Radcliff, Ky.
Darius Thomas Offensive lineman Central State Freshman Cincinnati, Ohio
Ashton McKenzie Defensive lineman Miles Senior Bronx, N.Y.
Charles Williams Defensive lineman Benedict Junior Barnwell, S.C.
Rodriguez Jones Defensive lineman Kentucky State Junior Newport News, Va.
Sam Goode Defensive lineman Fort Valley State Senior Duval County, Fla.
Travon Spencer Linebacker Kentucky State Senior Louisville, Ky.
Jacob Mitchell Linebacker Clark Atlanta Senior Decatur, Ga.
Javonte Kelly Linebacker Lane Senior Memphis, Tenn.
Clim Robbins Defensive back Central State Senior West Orlando, Fla.
Anthony Blackmon Defensive back Lane Junior Fairhope, Ala.
Caleb Duncan Defensive back Miles Senior New Orleans, La.
Vincent Edwards, Jr. Defensive back Kentucky State Senior Cincinnati, Ohio
Bill Rose Kicker Kentucky State Redshirt-Senior Lawrenceburg, Ky.
Nick Christiansen Punter Miles Junior Clayton, N.C.
Deandre Jackson Kick returner Clark Atlanta Senior Atlanta, Ga.
Jamion Dunning Punt returner Lane Senior Memphis, Tenn.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here