MONTGOMERY, Ala. – Albany State running back Jarvis Small was named the 2016 Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Preseason Offensive Player of the Year while Tuskegee defensive lineman Julian Morgan was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year, announced by the league on Wednesday.

All votes are submitted by SIAC head football coaches and sports information directors.

Small, who was the 2015 SIAC Offensive Player of the Year, led the SIAC in rushing averaging 103.7 yards per game. Small recorded 1,037 yards in 2015 and scored a conference-high 11 touchdowns. He recorded six games last year where he rushed for over 100 yards, including a season-best 173 yards against Morehouse.

Morgan recorded 54 tackles in 2015 and led the Golden Tigers in sacks (9.5). He tallied nine quarterback hurries and forced three fumbles. Morgan also finished the 2015 campaign with 15.5 tackles for loss.

In addition to the individual awards, the league also announced the predicted order of finish for the 2016 season. Albany State garnered 14 first place votes and 78 points to lead the east division. Morehouse was second (52) followed by Fort Valley State (49), Clark Atlanta (29), and Benedict (22).

In the west division, Miles was picked to finish first with eight first place votes and 72 points. Tuskegee was voted second with seven first place votes and 69 points. Central State followed in third (34), ahead of Lane (27) and Kentucky State (25).


1.     Albany State (14) 78
2.     Morehouse (2) 52
3.     Fort Valley State (1) 49
4.     Clark Atlanta 29
5.     Benedict 22
1.     Miles (8) 72
2.     Tuskegee (7) 69
3.     Central State 34
4.     Lane (1) 27
5.     Kentucky State 25

Offensive Player of the Year: Jarvis Small, Albany State
Defensive Player of the Year: Julian Morgan, Tuskegee

2016 SIAC Preseason Football First Team

QB David Whipple Miles Senior Gordon, Ga.
TE Leo Gilbert Tuskegee Senior Miami, Fla.
WR Desmond Reece Tuskegee R-Senior Valley, Ala.
WR Quadrey Simmons Albany State Junior Cope, S.C.
RB Jamarcus Nance Miles Senior Muscle Shoals, Ala.
RB Jarvis Small Albany State Senior Brunswick, Ga.
OL Chris Ruffin Miles Junior Bessemer, Ala.
OL Leeward Brown Tuskegee Junior Miami, Fla.
OL Javoris Wilburn Albany State Senior Warrenton, Ga.
OL Marcus Campbell Kentucky St. Sophomore Radcliff, Ky.
OL Tedrick Cofield Albany State Junior Atlanta, Ga.
DL Grover Stewart Albany State Senior Camillia, Ga.
DL Julian Morgan Tuskegee Senior Lithia Springs, Ga.
DL Daryl George Tuskegee Senior Douglasville, Ga.
DL Bretton Ervin Kentucky St. Sophomore Louisville, Ky.
LB Deonate Gary Central State Senior Lakeland, Fla.
LB Javonte Kelly Lane Senior Memphis, Tenn.
LB Osband Thompson Tuskegee Junior Miami, Fla.
DB Clim Robbins Central State Senior West Orlando, Fla.
DB Jonah McCutcheon Tuskegee R-Junior Mobile, Ala.
DB Nick Scott Albany State Senior Ellabell,Ga.
DB Nehemiah Coward Central State Senior Clermont, Fla.
K Nick Christiansen Miles Junior Clayton, N.C.
P Juan Serna Fort Valley Junior Douglasville, Ga.
KR Amyr Smith Morehouse Sophomore Atlanta, Ga.
PR Amyr Smith Morehouse Sophomore Atlanta, Ga.

2016 SIAC Preseason Football Second Team

QB Caleb Edmonds Albany State Senior Smyrna, Ga.
TE Ryan Edwards Morehouse Senior Atlanta, Ga.
WR Charles Johnson Kentucky St. Junior Erlanger, Ky.
WR Brenton Martin Clark Atlanta Sophomore Marietta, Ga.
RB Reginal Harris Kentucky St. Sophomore Miami, Fla.
RB Jaha McCray Clark Atlanta Junior Jacksonville, Fla.
OL Trey Wilson Morehouse Sophomore Lawrenceville, Ga.
OL Howard Bush Lane Junior Mobile, Ala.
OL Michael Moaga Kentucky St. Senior Lexington, Ky.
OL Aliou Diouf Central State Junior Cincinnati, Ohio
OL Darryl Carr Lane Junior Sauk Village, Ill.
DL Devonta Ramseur Tuskegee Junior Shelby, N.C.
DL Ray Taylor Lane Sophomore Memphis, Tenn.
DL Voris Bryant Morehouse Junior Gray, Ga.
DL Darion Hall Tuskegee Senior Wetumpka, Ala.
LB Trevon Spencer Kentucky St. Senior Louisville, Ky.
LB Stephen Williams Benedict Senior Williamston, S.C.
LB Zavondric Shingleton Albany State Senior Millen, Ga.
DB Darius Holmes Tuskegee R-Sophomore Warner Robins, Ga.
DB Cedric Poole Miles Senior Birmingham, Ala.
DB Jaquatin Victrum Clark Atlanta Junior Miami, Fla.
DB Emmauel Parks Morehouse Senior Atlanta, Ga.
K Bill Rose Kentucky St. Senior Lawrenceburg, Ky.
P Terry Wiley Albany State Junior Douglas, Ga.
KR George Myers, Jr. Benedict Junior Hephzibah, Ga.
PR Clim Robbins Central State Senior West Orlando, Fla.

Courtesy: SIAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here