SWACLogoBIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Fifteen programs within seven member institutions of the Southwestern Athletic Conference have been penalized based on its NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate (APR) data for the 2011-2012 academic year. The NCAA made the announcement today through an online post with links to the four-year APR data.

SWAC member institutions and programs penalized with postseason ineligibility include: Alabama State University (Baseball, Men’s Basketball, Football, Volleyball) – Grambling State University (Men’s Basketball) – Mississippi Valley State University (Baseball, Football, Men’s Basketball) – Southern University (Men’s Outdoor and Indoor Track & Field) – University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (Men’s Basketball).

Alabama A&M University men’s golf, Alabama State softball, Alcorn State University men’s basketball and Arkansas-Pine Bluff men’s golf were each handed a level-one penalty but maintained its postseason eligibility.

“The Southwestern Athletic Conference remains committed to assisting our member institutions in meeting academic progress and the metric for a successful Academic Progress Rate,” said SWAC Commissioner Duer Sharp. “The SWAC will continue to work closely with the NCAA, President Mark Emmert, Committee on Academic Performance (CAP) chair Walter Harrison and the Limited Resource Institutions advisory group. We are also proud of our student-athletes who have achieved academic success by graduating and performing at the highest level during competition.”

Along with the postseason ban, the programs received a level-one penalty which includes practice reduction.

Alabama State (Football and Men’s Basketball), Grambling State (Men’s Basketball), Mississippi Valley State (Men’s Basketball), Arkansas-Pine Bluff (Men’s Basketball), Southern (Men’s Track and Field) also received a level-two penalty – in season and out of season restrictions.

In addition to the reduction of practice time replaced with academic activities, level-two penalty includes the elimination of non-championship season or spring football. Teams without a non-championship season face a reduced number of contests.

MVSU and GSU men’s basketball teams were also tagged with a level-three penalty which includes various restrictions. This can include financial aid reductions, additional practice and contest restrictions; and potential multiyear bans on postseason competitions.

ASU, UAPB, and MVSU have filed penalty waivers which are currently under review.

Beginning with 2012-13 championships, teams must earn a minimum 900 four-year APR or a 930 average over the most recent two years to be eligible to participate.

SWAC APR leaders for 2011-2012 include:

Grambling State University                             Baseball                                                960

Alabama A&M University                                Football                                                 939

Prairie View A& M University                         Men’s Basketball                               944

Mississippi Valley State University                Men’s Cross Country                        992

Jackson State University                                  Men’s Golf                                           991

Jackson State University                                  Men’s Tennis                                       988

Mississippi Valley State University                Men’s Track Indoor                           988

Mississippi Valley State University                Men’s Track Outdoor                        988

Grambling State University                             Softball                                                  971

Mississippi Valley State University                Softball                                                  971

Alabama A&M University                                Women’s Basketball                         990

Grambling State University                             Women’s Bowling                              991

Alabama State University                                Women’s Cross Country                  990

Jackson State University                                  Women’s Golf                                     989

Alcorn State University                                     Women’s Soccer                                 991

Jackson State University                                  Women’s Tennis                                 1000

Alabama State University                                Women’s Track Indoor                     970

Alabama State University                                Women’s Track Outdoor                  970

Jackson State University                                  Women’s Volleyball                           973

Jackson State women’s tennis received the NCAA Public Recognition Award scoring 1,000 which is the highest any team can achieve.

The APR was implemented in 2005 to hold athletic programs accountable for their athletes working toward earning a degree. Points are awarded for retention and graduation of scholarship athletes.

The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC), established in 1920, is a college athletic conference headquartered in Birmingham, Alabama, which is made up of historically black universities in the Southern United States. It participates in the NCAA’s Division I for all sports and the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here