(Pittsburgh, PA – January 14, 2010) –American Urban Radio Networks is proud to announce the 2009 SBN Sports Black College All-American (BCAA) Team. The 25 member team is comprised of student-athletes from the nation’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities and they will be honored during the 36th Annual BCAA Awards Weekend February 12-14, 2010, at the DoubleTree Resort Orlando in Orlando, Florida.

The SBN Sports 2009 National Champion South Carolina State Bulldogs led the way with five players selected while runner-up Prairie View A&M had four players selected. Prairie View A&M University quarterback K. J. Black was named “SBN Sports/Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year,” Grambling State University defensive lineman Christian Anthony was named “SBN Sports/Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year” and for the second consecutive year Prairie View A&M University Head Coach Henry Frazier, III was named “SBN Sports/ Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year.”

K. J. Black, Prairie View A&M University, “SBN Sports/ Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year” – The 6-foot-4, 225-pound junior quarterback from Louisville, Kentucky, finished the 2009 season as the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision’s (FCS) statistical champion for passing efficiency. Black completed 70 percent of his passes during the 2009 campaign and had a rating of 172.77 en route to being named the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Offensive Player of the Year. He passed for 2,033 yards and 22 touchdowns to help the Panthers capture their first SWAC Championship since 1964.

Christian Anthony, Grambling State University, “SBN Sports/ Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year” – The 6-foot-4 275 pound junior defensive lineman from Birmingham, Alabama, led the SWAC in solo tackles (55) and was third in the conference in sacks (8.0), second in tackles for loss (15.0), and was the only defensive lineman in the country with five interceptions, two of which he returned for touchdowns. He also led the SWAC in forced fumbles (5) and fumbles recovered (3).

Henry Frazier III, Prairie View A&M University, “SBN Sports/ Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year” – The Washington D.C. native led Prairie View A&M to its first SWAC Championship since 1964. In addition to winning the SBN Coach of the Year Award, he was also recognized as the top coach on the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision level marking the first time a head coach from a Historically Black College or University has won the honor in the award’s 23-year existence.

The 2009 SBN Sports Black College All-American Team and the 2009 National Champion South Carolina State Bulldogs will be honored at the 36th annual BCAA Awards Luncheon on Saturday, February 13, 2010 at the Doubletree Resort Orlando in Orlando, Florida. The event will be hosted by SBN Director of Sports, Ty Miller and will be keynoted by Chris Carter, 2010 NFL Hall of Fame finalist and ESPN analyst. Other featured speakers, presenters and special invited guests include NFL Hall of Famer Mel Blount, NFL Hall of Famer Larry Little, Tampa Bay Buccaneers Head Coach Raheem Morris, Arizona Cardinals defensive back Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, Houston Texans wide receiver Jacoby Jones, former Denver Broncos wide receiver Rick Upchurch, former Houston Oilers kick-return specialist Billy ‘White Shoes” Johnson and former Tennessee Titans, Buffalo Bills and Jacksonville Jaguars linebacker Eddie Robinson Jr.

The Black College All American Awards Weekend (BCAA) recognizes and celebrates the academic and athletic achievements of student athletes who play football at America’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities. Weekend activities include a welcoming reception and awards luncheon. It is attended by past and present NFL players, the members of the 2009 SBN All-American Team, their families, event sponsors and special invited guests.


Position Name School Height Weight Class Hometown
QB K. J. Black Prairie View A&M University 6-4 225 Jr. Louisville, KY
RB Ulysses Banks Alabama A&M University 5-8 172 Sr. Birmingham, AL
RB Will Ford South Carolina State University 5-11 185 Sr. Travelers Rest, SC
WR Juamorris Stewart Southern University 6-3 195 Sr. Baton Rouge, LA
WR Oliver “Tre” Young South Carolina State University 6-1 180 Sr. Charleston, SC
TE Warrren Matthews Southern University 6-3 240 Sr. New Orleans, LA
OL Johnny Culbreath South Carolina State University 6-6 310 Jr. Monroe, GA
OL James Dekle Prairie View A&M University 6-2 285 So. Miami, FL
OL Joseph Ephrem Albany State University 6-6 350 Jr. Troy, IL
OL William Falakiseni Norfolk State University 6-2 300 Jr. Tafuna, American Samoa
OL Robert Okeafor Florida A&M University 6-4 295 Sr. Jacksonville, FL
PK Blake Erickson South Carolina State University 5-10 165 So. Pensacola, FL
DL Christian Anthony Grambling State University 6-4 275 Jr. Birmingham, AL
DL Justin Lawrence Morgan State University 6-1 280 Sr. Jetersville, VA
DL Jeremy Maddox Alabama A&M University 6-0 244 Sr. Grand Bay, AL
DL Quinton Spears Prairie View A&M University 6-4 240 Jr. Montgomery, TX
LB David Erby South Carolina State University 6-1 215 Sr. Rock Hill, SC
LB Adrian Hardy Alabama State University 6-2 197 Sr. Selma, AL
LB George Howard Morgan State University 6-1 245 Sr. Chesapeake, VA
DB Anthony Beck Prairie View A&M University 6-2 205 Sr. Channelview, TX
DB Justin Hannah Tuskegee University 5-10 185 Sr. Birmingham, AL
DB Quintez Smith Shaw University 6-1 195 Sr. Dublin, GA
DB Terrell Whitehead Norfolk State University 6-2 220 Sr. Virginia Beach, VA
P Jahmal Blanchard Hampton University 6-3 182 Sr. Fort Lauderdale, FL
SP Leroy Vann Florida A&M University 5-8 179 Sr. Tampa, FL


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here