Photo: Morgan State Athletics

NORFOLK, Va., — The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) has named Ian McBorrough from Morgan State University as the 2020 Male Student-Athlete of the Year, the conference office announced today.

“Congratulations to Ian McBorrough,” MEAC Commissioner Dr. Dennis Thomas said. “He’s had an absolutely phenomenal career at Morgan State University, not only as a student-athlete but academically and in extracurricular activities as well. I wish him continued success and I would like to thank his family and all of the people who had a positive influence on him.”

A native of Essex, Md., McBorrough competed in the sport of football for four seasons and led the MEAC with 111 total tackles (65 solo) this past season, averaging 9.2 stops a game. His 11.0 tackles for loss this past season were tied for the ninth-most in the conference, and McBorrough also had 2.0 sacks on the year.

Named First Team All-MEAC in 2018 and 2019, McBorrough was also named to the 2019 Watch List for the Black College Football Player of the Year award. He was third in the MEAC in sacks in 2018 with six.

For his career, McBorrough tallied 253 tackles, fifth-most in program history.

Throughout his career, McBorrough excelled in the classroom as a six-time Athletic Director’s Honor Roll honoree and a two-time Dean’s List awardee. Culminating his career with the Bears, McBorrough graduated from the storied Graves School of Business in four years with a 3.36 GPA.

He was also a finalist for the STATS FCS Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award and a semifinalist for the 2019 William V. Campbell Trophy, as presented by the National Football Foundation (NFF). The NFF also recognized McBorrough in naming him to the 2020 Hampshire Honor Society.

He was also named a Clara Adams Honor Student and Earl G. Graves Honor Student.

During his time at Morgan State, McBorrough completed several impressive internships with Toyota, Vector Marketing and the Sagamore Pendry Hotel. He is highly sought after in the professional world and will be a massive success in business after culminating his professional football career.

In addition, McBorrough was on the Morgan State business oratorical team and represented the football team on Morgan State’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) in athletic department meetings and events. McBorrough was also a Big Brother mentor at Holabird Middle/Elementary School, guiding and talking to troubled male youth.

McBorrough also volunteered with the Good Samaritan Hospital Volunteer Program.

As a two-time team captain, McBorrough was a transformational leader and laid the foundation for a bright future for the Bears. He was other-centered and always led with a team-first mentality.

McBorrough will be remembered as one of the most productive linebackers in Morgan State football history.

MEAC Male Student-Athlete of the Year Honorees
2012 — Jared Baldwin, North Carolina A&T State (Track and Field)
2013 — Joseph Hutchinson, North Carolina Central (Football)
2014 — Nesly Marcellon, Bethune-Cookman (Football)
2015 — Ishaq Pitt, Maryland Eastern Shore (Men’s Basketball)
2016 — Reginald Johnson, Jr., Hampton (Men’s Basketball)
2017 — Khalil Rmidi Kinini, Maryland Eastern Shore (Cross Country, Track and Field)
2018 — Isaiah Chambers, Maryland Eastern Shore (Baseball)
2019 — Julius Reynolds, North Carolina A&T State (Football)
2020 — Ian McBorrough, Morgan State (football)

Courtesy: MEAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here