Photo: Howard Athletics

CHICAGO, — Howard University junior quarterback Caylin Newton was one of 25 Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) players named to the 2019 STATS FCS Walter Payton Award Watch List, it was announced on Wednesday.

The list included at least one player from all 13 FCS conferences.

After winning the 2017 MEAC Rookie of the Year award, Newton ended his sophomore campaign ranked among the nation’s leaders in several categories, including passing yards per completion (1st/16.85) and total offense (7th/313.3) en route to earning the 2018 MEAC Offensive Player of the Year honor.

The Atlanta, Ga. product was named to the 2018 Walter Payton Award Watch List after winning MEAC Offensive Player of the Week twice and was a finalist for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award. In the season opener against Ohio (Sept. 1), he posted 532 total yards, which was the third-highest output in program history.

Newton, who last week was named the MEAC Preseason Offensive Player of the Year and is a STATS FCS Preseason Third Team All-American, completed his sophomore campaign as the MEAC’s top passer with 2,629 yards and 22 touchdowns in 10 games.

The Walter Payton Award, given to the Offensive Player of the Year in college football’s Division I subdivision and first awarded in 1987, has watched past winners such as Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, John Friesz, Brian Finneran, Jimmy Garoppolo and Cooper Kupp move on to the NFL.

More players can join the watch list during the 2019 season. A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the winner following the regular season.

Also this season, STATS will present the Buck Buchanan Award (FCS Defensive Player of the Year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS Freshman Player of the Year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS Coach of the Year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Courtesy: MEAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here