South Carolina State defensive tackle Javon Hargrave, Norfolk State linebacker Deon King and Southern kick returner Willie Quinn collected various national honors in recent weeks.

The trio can add two more entries on their resumes as they earned spots on the Walter Camp Foundation and American Football Coaches Association Football Championship Subdivision All-America teams.

Hargrave, King and Quinn received All-America honors from the Associated Press, STATS and College Sports Madness earlier this month.

The Walter Camp list placed the three players on its defensive unit. The AFCA list includes Hargrave and King on the defense while placing Quinn as an all-purpose specialist.

Hargrave, who finished fifth in FCS in sacks and tackles for loss, anchored a SCSU defense that led FCS in sacks (46). The Bulldogs’ defense ranked third against the pass (143.5 passing yards allowed/game), fourth in scoring defense (15.2 points allowed/game), sixth in total defense (280 yards allowed/game) and 25th against the run (136.5 yards allowed/game).

King led all of Division I (FBS and FCS) in total tackles with 163. He finished the season third in FCS in solo tackles (77) with 11 tackles for loss, three tackles and an interception.

Quinn — currently tied for the FCS career mark for kickoff returns for touchdowns — led the nation with four kickoff returns for touchdowns, and was tied with Kansas State’s Morgan Burns for the overall Division I lead. His five total returns for touchdowns (4 kickoffs/1 punt) this season were one off tying the FCS all-time single season mark.

Gardin named to FCS ADA team

North Carolina A&T punt returner Khris Gardin earned a spot on the FCS Athletics Directors Association All-America team.

Gardin’s 740 punt return yards is now the FCS single-season record, and he led the nation with 23.1 yards per return. His three punt returns for touchdowns led FCS.

Update: NSU’s King has won the 2015 Buck Buchanan Award. The Buck Buchanan Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding defensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA), and was first given in 1995 after the Walter Payton Award was designated solely for offensive players.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here