MONTGOMERY, Ala. – The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) released its 2015 football conference honors with Jewel Ratliff (Tuskegee) being named the Overall Player of the Year (MVP) and Defensive Player of the Year announced Friday.

Ratliff leads the conference and is ranked 12th in the country in tackles (11.8/game). The three-time SIAC Defensive Player of the Week has recorded double-digit tackles in eight of 10 games this season. He also is second on the team in interceptions with four, returning one for a touchdown. The senior has two touchdowns this season – the other was a 73-yard return of a blocked field goal against Albany State. Ratliff has recorded 118 total tackles (51 solo), has 12 tackles for loss (41 yards) and two sacks (six yards). Additionally, he has recorded three pass breakups, one quarterback hurry and one forced fumble, along with a career-high 19 stops against Central State.

Jarvis Small (Albany State) was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year. The junior leads the league in rushing, averaging 103.6 yards per game. Small has recorded 932 yards this season and has scored a conference-leading 11 touchdowns. He has five games where he has rushed for over 100 yards, including a season-best 173 yards against Morehouse.

Amyr Smith (Morehouse) and Darrius Holmes (Tuskegee) were tabbed Co-Freshman of the Year.

Smith leads the SIAC in kick return average (33.9 yards/game) and has returned two touchdowns, including one for 100 yards. Smith has recorded 273 receiving yards and scored six touchdowns and has averaged 34.1 yards per game.

Holmes is third on the team in interceptions with three this season. The redshirt freshman has recorded 24 total tackles, including 14 solo. He has started every game this year and has 3.5 tackles for loss. Holmes also has four pass breakups and was named the BoxToRow National Player of the Week after picking off a pair of passes in a victory over Morehouse.

Reginald Ruffin (Miles) was voted as the Coach of the Year after leading the Golden Bears (6-4 overall) to a 5-0 record in the conference to claim the west division title. Miles advanced to the championship game with a 26-23 road win over Tuskegee on Nov. 7 and will play Albany State on Saturday, Nov. 14 for the SIAC title game.

Overall Player of the Year (MVP)
Jewell Ratliff              Tuskegee

Offensive Player of the Year
Jarvis Small                 Albany State

Defensive Player of the Year
Jewell Ratliff              Tuskegee

Co-Freshman of the Year
Amyr Smith                 Morehouse
Darrius Holmes           Tuskegee

Coach of the Year:
Reginald Ruffin           Miles

First Team
David Whipple                Stillman                QB
Devon Mackey               Stillman                 TE
Hudson Cain                  Stillman                 WR
Devon Mann                  Morehouse             WR
Jamarcus Nance            Miles                       RB
Jarvis Small                 Albany State              RB
Terrence Owens         Miles                           OL
Chris Ruffin                 Miles                           OL
Keenan Woods            Central State              OL
Leeward Brown          Tuskegee                     OL
Tyree Bell                    Stillman                      OL

Braysean Jones           Miles                          DL
Gabriel Mass              Lane                            DL
Grover Stewart           Albany State               DL
Justin Woods-West    Central State               DL
Deonate Gary              Central State              LB
Jewell Ratliff              Tuskegee                     LB
Javonte Kelly               Lane                           LB
Jabril Cox                     Miles                          DB
Clim Robbins               Central State              DB
Jonah McCutcheon      Tuskegee                   DB
Joshua Tate                 Clark Atlanta               DB

Nick Christiansen        Miles                           K
Dean Kelly                   Stillman                      P
Amyr Smith                 Morehouse                  KR
Dennis Norfleet          Tuskegee                     PR

Second Team
Caleb Edmonds           Albany State               QB
Zach Thomas              Central State               TE
Marquel Gardner        Tuskegee                     WR
Devonta Osbourne      Albany State               WR
Reginal Harris             Kentucky State            RB
Dennis Norfleet          Tuskegee                     RB
Javoris Wilburn           Albany State               OL
Vincent Williams          Tuskegee                    OL
Justice Thomas           Morehouse                 OL
Marcus Campbell        Kentucky State           OL
Jordan Harris               Morehouse                 OL

Julian Morgan            Tuskegee                     DL
Everett Curry              Stillman                      DL
Zamir Carlis                Stillman                      DL
Daryl George              Tuskegee                     DL
Rodrick Holloman        Miles                           LB
James Woods             Morehouse                  LB
Tavarius Washington  Albany State               LB
Nick Scott                    Albany State               DB
Nehemiah Coward      Central State               DB
Jermaine Graham       Kentucky State            DB
Michael Robinson       Tuskegee                     DB

Bill Rose                      Kentucky State            K
Brian Curry                  Benedict                      P
George Myers Jr.        Benedict                      KR
Amyr Smith                 Morehouse                  PR


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here