Norfolk State University head coach Latrell Scott announced the Spartans’ 2015 football schedule on Thursday. Highlighting the slate are three non-conference games against Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) opponents and four home games against Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference foes.

“We have a very challenging schedule this year, but I know it’s one our coaches and players are excited about facing head-on,” Scott said. “Playing three high-caliber FBS programs is a tremendous opportunity for our program.”

The Spartans open the year with three straight FBS road games, starting with a Sept. 5 matchup at Rutgers. The Scarlet Knights, now a member of the Big 10, have hosted NSU three times previously (2007, ’10, ’13), with Rutgers winning all three. Rutgers is coming off a 7-6 season and a win in the Quick Lane Bowl.

The following week, the Spartans face cross-town rival Old Dominion on Sept. 12 at ODU’s Foreman Field at S.B. Ballard Stadium. The game is a return matchup from a memorable 2013 game at NSU, which ODU won 27-24. It will be the third meeting all-time between the city of Norfolk’s two Division I programs, including a 2011 matchup in the FCS playoffs. The Monarchs of Conference USA went 6-6 last season.

NSU’s non-conference slate wraps up on Sept. 19 at Marshall University in Huntington, W.Va. It will mark the first-ever meeting between the teams. The Thundering Herd went 13-1, captured the C-USA championship and also won the inaugural Boca Raton Bowl this past season.

The remainder of the schedule consists of eight MEAC opponents. The league slate kicks off with NSU’s home opener against Hampton in the annual Battle of the Bay on Sept. 26 at William “Dick” Price Stadium. NSU also has home games with North Carolina A&T (Oct. 10), Savannah State (Nov. 7 for Homecoming) and South Carolina State (Nov. 14). NSU travels for MEAC road contests at Howard (Oct. 3), Bethune-Cookman (Oct. 24), North Carolina Central (Oct. 31) and Morgan State (Nov. 21).

The Spartans face all five MEAC teams that shared the league title last year – N.C. A&T, N.C. Central, S.C. State, Bethune-Cookman and Morgan State. Florida A&M and Delaware State rotate off the Spartans’ schedule this year. NSU will have its lone bye week of the season on Oct. 17.

MEAC Media Relations


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here