New Orleans, La. – Xavier University and Southern University at New Orleans dominate the All-GCAC Volleyball Team selections, as announced Wednesday by Commissioner Steven B. Martin.  The awards were decided based on a vote of the league’s head coaches.

SUNO senior outside hitter Christal Hollins was the only unanimous selection to All-GCAC First Team.  Hollins won conference player of the week honors five times this season and finished in the top five in the GCAC in hitting percentage, kills per set, and digs per set.

Joining Hollins on the First Team are teammates Stephanie Buhl and Jana Reininghaus, Xavier’s Chinedu Echebelem, Claudia Haywood and Franziska Pirkl, Dillard’s Mercades Chevis, Carla Novaes of Talladega, and Philander Smith’s Zyra Wright.

The six-member Second Team includes SUNO’s Milica Golubovic and Ana Privrat, Xavier’s Darian Harris, Tougaloo’s Chassidy Harris and Philander Smith’s Victoria Hicks and Brianna White.

Six of the conference’s eight schools are represented on the All-GCAC team, led by SUNO with five student-athletes.  Four from Xavier were chosen, followed by three from Philander Smith.  Dillard, Talladega and Tougaloo all had one player apiece recognized.

The All-GCAC teams were led by underclassmen with just five seniors among the fifteen selections.  There are seven juniors to go along with two freshman and one sophomore.

Individual award winners will be announced Thursday night at the GCAC Volleyball Awards Banquet.  The banquet begins at 7:00 p.m. in the Magnolia Room of the Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport.

GCAC teams will start play in the 2014 GCAC Volleyball Championship this Friday, Nov. 14, with all eight teams in action on the campuses of Xavier University and SUNO.  The Championship Final is scheduled for Nov. 15 at noon at the Xavier University Convocation Center.

For additional information regarding the 2014 GCA Volleyball Championship, please visit

2014 All-GCAC Volleyball First Team

Stephanie Buhl           Sr.        S          SUNO

Mercades Chevis        Sr.        RS        Dillard

Chinedu Echebelem   Sr.        OH      Xavier

Claudia Haywood     Jr.        MB      Xavier

Christal Hollins*        Sr.        OH      SUNO

Carla Novaes             So.       OH      Talladega

Franziska Pirkl           Jr.        S          Xavier

Jana Reininghaus       Jr.        MB      SUNO

Zyra Wright               Jr.        OH      Philander Smith

2014 All-GCAC Volleyball Second Team

Milica Golubovic        Jr.        OH      SUNO

Chassidy Harris         Fr.        OH      Tougaloo

Darian Harris             Jr.        L/DS   Xavier

Victoria Hicks            Fr.        DS/L   Philander Smith

Ana Privrat                Jr.        L          SUNO

Brianna White            So.       MB      Philander Smith

*Unanimous selection

Courtesy: GCAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here