The poll is based on a combination of a ranking algorithm and a voting system. It is the original HBCU poll that separates the rankings (since 2003) of NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and NAIA Division I member HBCU institutions into two distinct categorical polls: Major and Mid-Major (This format is unlike the historic SBN Poll). The Major Division Poll, consist of NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) [formerly I-AA] programs and the Mid-Major Division Poll, which consist of both NCAA Division II and NAIA Division I programs. This format introduced to the public based on the request of Black College blogging fans and on the research that consists of data mining and the difference in scholarship limitation and requirements beset by NCAA and NAIA bylaws
(i.e. Division I FCS ? 63, Division II ? 36 and NAIA ? 24).

The Dr. Cavil’s HBCU Major Division Football Top 10, with number of first-place votes, record in parentheses, total points, previous ranking, and next opponent:

Name——————Record–1PV-Points-PWR–Last Game-Next Game-(12/2/10-12/4/10)
1. %-Texas Southern—-(8-3)–(5)–104—1—(Open, next SWAC CHampionship Game – Dec. 11)
2. Grambling State—–(9-2)–(4)–101—5—(Beat Southern,(38-17) Season Complete)
3. #-Bethune-Cookman—(10-1)-(2)–92—-2—(Bye, vs-New Hampshire in D-I FCS Playoffs)
4. #-@-S. C. State—–(9-3)——-75—-3—(Lost to Georgia Southern,(41-16) in D-I FCS Playoffs Season Complete)
5. #-Florida A & M—–(8-3)——-67—-4—(Season Complete)
6. &-Alabama State—–(7-4)——-48—-6—(Lost to Tuskegee,(17-10) next SWAC CHampionship Game – Dec. 11)
7. Jackson State——-(8-3)——-46—-7—(Season Complete)
8. Prairie View A & M–(7-4)——-39—-8—(Season Complete)
9. Hampton————-(6-5)——-18—-9—(Season Complete)
10. Norfolk State——-(6-5)——-6—–10–(Season Complete)

Dropped Out: N/A

Receiving Votes: Arkansas P. B.-(5-6)-5, Alcorn State-(5-6)-4, Morgan State-(5-6)-1

PWR = Previous Week Ranking
1PV = 1st Place Votes
LG = Last Game

& = SWAC Eastern Division Champions
% = SWAC Western Division Champions
# = MEAC Co-Champions

@ = TSPN & 3C 2009 HBCU Football Major Division National Champion

Major Division = Division I Championship Subdivision (FCS) / (Formerly NCAA Division I-AA)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here