Christian Anthony

Christian Anthony

With offensive and defensive players of the year returning from 2009 in Prairie View quarterback K.J. Black and Grambling defensive end Christian Anthony, the preseason all-SWAC football team for 2010 carried few surprises – especially since Prairie View and Alabama A&M were selected to repeat as respective division champions for the upcoming season.

Anthony was a dominant defensive force who finished 10th in the league with 76 tackles and third overall in both sacks (8.0) and tackles-for-loss (15.0) in 2009. As a defensive lineman he recorded five interceptions and returned two of them for touchdowns for the Tigers. He led the league in fumbles forced with five, and he recovered three loose balls.

K.J. Black

Black was the premier offensive threat in the SWAC in 2009 while leading the Panthers to their first conference title in nearly half a century. Black threw for 225.9 yards per game and led the league in pass efficiency by nearly 30 points at 172.8. He tossed 22 touchdowns on the season with just four interceptions.


The Farmers Insurance SWAC Football Championship Game should be a rematch on December 11 at Legion Field, according to the Southwestern Athletic Conference coaches, sports information directors, and selected media members.The selection group has picked Prairie View A&M and Alabama A&M to repeat as respective division champions for the 2010 season.

Western Division: The Panthers garnered 17 first place votes and outdistanced second-place selection Grambling by 25 total tallies. Texas Southern finished third, 11 votes shy of Grambling, while Southern and Arkansas-Pine Bluff were predicted a distant fourth and fifth, respectively.

PVAM (17) 104; GRAM (2) 79; TXSO (2) 68; SUBR 42; UAPB (1) 37.

Eastern Division: Alabama A&M was selected in a tight race with Jackson State in the eastern predicted race. The Bulldogs got 15 first place votes and ended with a 12 vote cushion over the Tigers. Alcorn State finished third following JSU by 17 votes. Alabama State and Mississippi Valley State were predicted to finish fourth and fifth, respectively.

AAMU (15) 98; JKST (5) 86; ALCN (2) 69; ALST 50; MVSU 27.

Offensive Player of the Year – K.J. Black, QB, Prairie View A&M
Defensive Player of the Year – Christian Anthony, DL, Grambling

OL Russell Jackson, Alabama A&M
OL James Dekle, Prairie View A&M
OL Tim Tusey, Prairie View A&M
OL Ramon Chinyoung, Southern
OL Charles Smith, Texas Southern
RB Frank Warren, Grambling
RB Donald Babers, Prairie View A&M
WR Nick Andrews, Alabama State
WR William Osbourn, Texas Southern
TE Ryan Singleton, Alcorn State
QB K.J. Black, Prairie View A&M

DL Frank Kearse, Alabama A&M
DL Christian Anthony, Grambling
DL Donovan Robinson, Jackson State
DL Quinton Spears, Prairie View A&M
LB Afu Okosun, Alabama A&M
LB Cliff Exama, Grambling
LB Max Sencherey, Prairie View A&M
DB Anthony Johnson, Jackson State
DB Kerry Hoskins, Jackson State
DB Chris Adingupu, Prairie View A&M
DB Jason House, Southern

PK Ari Johnson, Grambling
P Pedro Ventura, Prairie View A&M
KR Kiare Thompson, Grambling

OL Anquez Jackson, Alabama A&M
OL Bruce Beal, Alabama State
OL Antonio Colston, Jackson State
OL Terrael Williams, Jackson State
OL Chris Browne, Southern
RB Cornelius Walker, Grambling
RB Martin Gilbert, Texas Southern
WR Edward Johnson, Alcorn State
WR Shaun Stephens, Prairie View A&M
TE Larry Donnell, Grambling
QB Arvell Nelson, Texas Southern

DL Kynjee Cotton, Alabama State
DL Malcolm Taylor, Alcorn State
DL Reginald Foster, Mississippi Valley
DL Rolando Melancon, Texas Southern
LB Ryan Rich, Jackson State
LB Rory Malone, Mississippi Valley
LB Dejuan Fulgham, Texas Southern
DB Korey Morrison, Alabama A&M
DB Donovan Masline, Alabama State
DB Markkus Davis, Mississippi Valley
DB De’Markus Washington, Texas Southern

PK Brady Faggard, Prairie View A&M
P Josh Duran, Southern
KR Mareo Howard, Arkansas-Pine Bluff


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here