Jackson State baseball
Photo: Jackson State Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its 2021 All-SWAC Baseball teams and individual award winners on Tuesday morning. The all-conference honors were voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors. Jackson State swept the individual awards winning all seven categories.

Jackson State’s Ty Hill was named Player of the Year, Hitter of the Year and Newcomer of the Year while fellow teammate Anthony Becerra was tabbed Pitcher of the Year.

JSU’s Chenar Brown claimed Freshman of the Year accolades while teammate Stephen Davila took home Relief Pitcher of the Year honors.

Jackson State’s Omar Johnson was selected for Coach of the Year honors after leading his team to an undefeated 24-0 mark in league play and an Eastern division title.

Player/Hitter/Newcomer of the Year
Jackson State’s Hill proved himself to be one of the most dynamic and complete offensive players in the SWAC. He led the league or ranked in the top of several offensive categories including batting average (.433), slugging percentage (.675), on-base percentage (.496), hits (52), runs batted in (42), doubles (12), and triples (4). His stellar play was a major factor in JSU going undefeated in conference play at 24-0.

Pitcher of the Year
Jackson State’s Becerra contributed a dominant season on the mound for the Tigers. He finished with an 8-1 overall record and a league-high 101 strikeouts. Becerra tossed 67 innings and sported a 2.55 ERA. He was also twice named SWAC Pitcher of the Week.

Also read: Perfect: Jackson State baseball finishes SWAC regular-season unbeaten

Relief Pitcher of the Year
Jackson State’s Davila is a key reliever for the Tigers on the mound. He finished the season 5-0 and added six saves, which led the conference. He also struck out a total of 47 batters and sports a 3.38 ERA during 14 appearances this season.

Freshman of the Year
Jackson State’s Brown had an impressive collegiate debut season for the Tigers. The freshman was ranked in the top 10 in the following categories: Batting average (.363), slugging percentage (.664), runs scored (35), runs batted in (42), triples (3), and home runs (7).

Coach of the Year
Jackson State’s Johnson led the Tigers to their best regular season since 1990. He guided the JSU to a 31-8 overall record and a 24-0 mark in SWAC play. Johnson’s team has totaled 111 stolen bases and 3.5 stolen bases per game, which leads the NCAA Division I. JSU also ranks first in the SWAC as a team in batting average (.325) and earned run average (4.42 ERA).

The complete listing of all-conference selections and individual awards winners can be found below.

2021 All-SWAC Baseball Teams and Individual Award Winners

Player/Hitter/Newcomer of the Year
Ty Hill- Jackson State

Pitcher of the Year
Anthony Beccerra- Jackson State

Relief Pitcher of the Year
Steven Davila- Jackson State

Freshman of the Year
Chenar Brown- Jackson State

Coach of the Year
Omar Johnson- Jackson State

All-SWAC Baseball First Team
C – Hunter May- Alabama State
1B – Chenar Brown- Jackson State
2B – Tristin Garcia- Alcorn State
3B – Ty Hill- Jackson State
SS – Cristopher DeGuzman- Alabama State
DH – Santiago Garcia- Alabama State
OF – Chandler Dillard- Jackson State
OF – Jahmoi Percival- Grambling State
OF – CJ Newsome- Jackson State
SP – Anthony Becerra- Jackson State
SP – Nikelle Galatas- Jackson State
RP – Steven Davila- Jackson State

All-SWAC Baseball Second Team
C – Taj Porter- Southern
1B – Oscar Ponce- Texas Southern
2B – Andrew Garcia- Prairie View A&M
3B – Trenton Jamison- Alabama State
SS – Cameron Bufford- Grambling State
DH – O’Neill Burgos- Southern
OF – Equon Smith- Jackson State
OF – Jabronski Willams- Alabama State
OF – Xavier Jefferson- Prairie View A&M
SP – Breon Pooler- Alabama State
SP – Kam Fields- Texas Southern
RP – Payton Harris- Alabama State

Courtesy: SWAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here