Alcorn State Football Stadium
Photo: Alcorn State Athletics

Updated Sept. 3 at 11:21 AM (CT)

Alcorn State will become the newest member of the SWAC’s West Division, according to a WJTV’s Samaria Terry.

“The SWAC plans to move Alcorn State to the West Division, per sources. FAMU and Bethune-Cookman, of course, will be in the East,” Terry reported on Twitter late Wednesday.

The move was necessary to accommodate the arrival of Florida A&M and Bethune-Cookman, two athletic programs that will become the conference’s newest members beginning in 2021.

With the conference’s new alignment as a 12-team league, the East and West divisions will be set as follows:

East Division West Division
Alabama A&M Alcorn State
Alabama State Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Bethune-Cookman Grambling State
Florida A&M Prairie View A&M
Jackson State Texas Southern
Mississippi Valley State Southern

Alcorn State has been affiliated with the SWAC’s East Division since 1999 when the conference created the football championship game which was first played at Legion Field in Birmingham, Alabama.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here