Photo: Tennessee State Athletics

NASHVILLE — Tennessee State placed three players on the Preseason All-Ohio Valley Conference Team, as announced on Monday. Redshirt-senior cornerback Nick Harper, Jr., was honored along with redshirt-senior offensive lineman Cam Durley and junior punter Kaleb Mosley.

Harper is coming off a junior campaign where he led the OVC with 1.3 passes defended per game, which was 11th nationally. The cornerback finished fifth on the team with 58 tackles, 46 solo, 14 pass breakups and two interceptions.

Mosley led the conference in punting, averaging 42.2 yards per punt, and ranking 20th in the nation. As a sophomore, the Montgomery, Ala., native had 44 boots for 1,857 yards with a career-long 64-yarder to highlight the season. Mosley finished with eight punts over 50 yards, while placing 12 inside the 20.

Durley played in 12 games, starting 10, at right tackle in his first season as a Tiger. The lineman helped the offensive unit average 400.1 yards per game, finishing third in the Ohio Valley Conference in total offense. The offense also finished second in passing with 260.7 yards per game. Durley anchored a line that allowed the second least amount of sacks in the OVC at 1.75 per game

The Big Blue is currently scheduled to open the 2020 season on Sept. 26 versus Jacksonville State.

2020 Ohio Valley Conference All-Preseason Team
Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: DeAngelo Wilson (WR), Austin Peay
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Kordell Jackson (NB), Austin Peay

QB Zerrick Cooper, Jacksonville State, R-Sr.
QB Bailey Fisher, Tennessee Tech, Jr.
RB Peyton Logan, UT Martin, Sr.
RB Alonzo Booth, Eastern Kentucky, R-Jr.
FB Davin Dyal, UT Martin, R-So.
WR DeAngelo Wilson, Austin Peay, Sr.
WR Baniko Harley, Austin Peay, Sr.
WR LaMartez Brooks, Murray State, R-Jr.
WR Aaron Alston, Southeast Missouri, Jr.
WR Isaiah Hill, Eastern Illinois, R-Jr.
TE/WR Colton Dowell, UT Martin, R-Jr.
TE Trae Barry, Jacksonville State, Sr.
OL Blake Mitchell, Austin Peay, R-Sr.
OL Aries Davis, UT Martin, R-Sr.
OL Tucker Schroeder, Eastern Kentucky, R-Jr.
OL Mike Rhoades, Tennessee Tech, Sr.
OL Graham Ashkettle, Eastern Kentucky, R-Jr.
OL Michael Shaddix, Jacksonville State, R-Jr.
OL Cam Durley, Tennessee State, R-Sr.
OL JaChai Baker, Southeast Missouri, Sr.

DE Chris Tucker, Tennessee Tech, Sr.
DT Josephus Smith, Austin Peay, R-Sr.
DT John Wesley, Austin Peay, R-Jr.
DT Austin Pickett, UT Martin, R-Sr.
OLB Dytarious Johnson, Eastern Illinois, Sr.
ILB Anthony Koclanakis, Murray State, R-Sr.
ILB Zack Woodard, Jacksonville State, R-Jr.
ILB Jack McDonald, Austin Peay, R-Jr.
OLB Tai Carter, Tennessee Tech, Jr.
CB Nick Harper Jr., Tennessee State, R-Sr.
CB Yul Gowdy, Jacksonville State, R-Jr.
S JaQuez Akins, UT Martin, Sr.
S Bydarrius Knighten, Southeast Missouri, Sr.
NB Kordell Jackson, Austin Peay, Sr.

K Kendrick Tiller, Southeast Missouri, R-Sr.
P Kaleb Mosley, Tennessee State, Jr.
KR Metrius Fleming, Tennessee Tech, So.
PR Malik Honeycutt, Murray State, R-Sr.

Courtesy: Tennessee State Athletics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here