BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Though the 2018 Toyota SWAC Football Championship has relocated to the campus of the highest-ranking divisional champion, the 2018 Southwestern Athletic Conference Hall of Fame reception will remain in Birmingham.

Seven of the league’s most integral contributors – Alcorn State’s Dave Washington, Jr., Alabama State’s Larry Watkins, Grambling State’s Ralph A. Garr, Sr., Jackson State’s Eric Strothers, Prairie View A&M’s Nathaniel Gross, Southern’s Roger Cador, and longtime league administrator Lonza Hardy – are set to be enshrined on Nov. 30 at The Sheraton in Birmingham, Ala. The induction ceremony begins with a reception at 6 p.m.

The newest members of the Hall of Fame were selected from a list of nominees who were submitted by his or her respective institution. The nominees were then elected for induction by the selection committee from members appointed by SWAC Presidents and Chancellors.

The SWAC Hall of Fame induction ceremony has been held as a marquee event as part the lead-up to the Toyota SWAC Football Championship game. To date, 239 esteemed individuals have received the conference’s highest honor in recognition of their accomplishments within the conference and the indelible mark made on the league’s rich history.

Courtesy: SWAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here