Halbrook Awards Luncheon - Mississippi Association of Colleges and Universities (MAC) at The Mill. Mississippi Valley State University President, Jerryl Briggs, receives the Public University Division Men's Halbrook award from Tina Halbrook Donahoo. (photo by Megan Bean / © Mississippi State University)

STARKVILLE–Mississippi Valley State University (MVSU) male athletes have been making big wins inside of the classroom, and they have the trophy to prove it.

MVSU was the recipient of the “David Halbrook Award for Academic Achievement Among Athletes” in the Men’s Public University Division Oct. 3 during the 84th annual Halbrook Awards Luncheon.

Hosted at Mississippi State University as part of the Mississippi Association of Colleges and Universities Annual Conference, the annual event is organized to recognize colleges and universities that achieve and maintain a high academic standard for student-athletes, which in turn encourages high graduation rates.

MVSU Acting President Jerryl Briggs said that earning the coveted award is indicative of the institution’s theme–“One Team. One Goal. One Valley. …In Motion.”

“We’re really doing some great, positive things at MVSU and receiving this award shows that our male athletes are not only performing in the classroom, but that they are also graduating and that’s really what we are all about as a university,” Briggs said.

Briggs said outperforming the other seven public Mississippi universities is not only a testament to the hard work and dedication of the students, but to the faculty and staff as well.

“Being recognized as the highest achiever amongst the (Mississippi Institute of Higher Learning) schools was tremendous, and I give all the thanks to the Athletic Department for really making sure that our students are in the classroom.”

While serving in the Mississippi Legislature, Representative David M. Halbrook Sr., along with his brothers John, James and J.A. Halbrook, endowed the Halbrook Awards.

Today, the awards are administered cooperatively by the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning, the Mississippi Community College Board and the Mississippi Association of Independent Colleges and Universities.

MVSU last received the award during the 1997 and 1998 school term in the Men’s Division and in 2001 for the Women’s Division.

Courtesy: MVSU


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here