LANDOVER, Md. – North Carolina A&T State captured its first-ever MEAC women’s indoor championship, tallying 145 points and finishing well ahead of runner-up Florida A&M (94), third-place Hampton (73.5) and fourth-place Norfolk State (72).

Aggies coach Duane Ross was named the meet’s Most Outstanding Coach.

Martha Bissah of Norfolk State was named the meet’s Most Outstanding Runner on the women’s side after adding two more titles to her ledger on Saturday, taking gold in the women’s mile with a time of 4:53.48 and the 3,000-meter run with a 10:13.70.

These titles came in addition to the 800 and distance medley titles she won on Friday.

Morgan Knight of North Carolina A&T State defended her title in the women’s pole vault, leaping 3.52 meters (11 feet, 6.5 inches). It was the first of six event titles on the day for the Lady Aggies; in other field action, Most Outstanding Field Performer Anisa Toppin won the women’s triple jump with a mark of 12.73 meters (41 feet, 9.25 inches).

India Brown gave North Carolina A&T State the women’s 200 title with a time of 24.08, and her teammate Tori Ray won the women’s 400 in 55.77.

Kayla White ran an 8.36 to win gold in the women’s 60-meter hurdles.

The Lady Aggies also took gold in the 4x400m relay, as Ray, Brown, Asya Macon and Taliyah Townsend turned in a time of 3:46.63.

Bethune-Cookman’s Catoria Sirmon won the women’s shot put with a mark of 15.22 meters (49 feet, 11.25 inches).

Shenel Crooke of Morgan State won the 60m dash with a time of 7.41.


First Team: Chenel Crooke, Morgan State (60m); India Brown, North Carolina A&T State (200m, 4×400); Tori Ray, North Carolina A&T State (400m, 4×400); Martha Bissah, Norfolk State (800m, Mile, 3,000m, DMR); Kayla White, North Carolina A&T State (60h); Judith Kibii, Florida A&M (5,000m); Asya Macon, North Carolina A&T State (4×400); Taliyah Townsend, North Carolina A&T State (4×400); Candice Higgins, Norfolk State (DMR); Nickheila John, Norfolk State (DMR); Chazmin Fullwood, Norfolk State (DMR); Quamecha Morrison, Bethune-Cookman (HJ); Morgan Knight, North Carolina A&T State (Pole); Madeleine Akobundu, North Carolina A&T State (LJ); Anisa Toppin, North Carolina A&T State (TJ); Catoria Sirmon, Bethune-Cookman (Shot); Alexandria Marshall-Paul, Florida A&M (Weight); Khemani Roberts, Coppin State (Pentathlon)

Second Team: Meshala Morton, Hampton (60m); Yakira Love, North Carolina A&T State (200m); Annastacia Barham, Morgan State (400m, 4×400); G’Jasmyne Butler, North Carolina A&T State (800m); Madeleine Akobundu, North Carolina A&T State (60h); Valencia McDowell, Morgan State (4×400); Chantai Smith, Morgan State (4×400); Brittany Meads, Morgan State (4×400); Fridah Limo, Florida A&M (5,000m); Emmax Kiplagat, Florida A&M (DMR); Destiny Johnson, Florida A&M (DMR); Christina Moodie, Florida A&M (DMR); Judith Kibii, Florida A&M (Mile, 3,000m, DMR); Jailah Mason, Morgan State (HJ); Chloe Franks, Delaware State (Pole); Anisa Toppin, North Carolina A&T State (LJ); Shauntel Lucius, Maryland Eastern Shore (TJ); Nicovia Carter, Maryland Eastern Shore (Shot); Sierra Adans, Maryland Eastern Shore (Weight); Kaitlin Scott, Hampton (Pentathlon)

Third Team: India Brown, North Carolina A&T State (60m); Shenel Crooke, Morgan State (200m); Omealla Gordon, Delaware State (400m); Sydney Benson, Howard (800m); Morgan Knight, North Carolina A&T State (60h); Jennaya Hield, Maryland Eastern Shore (Mile, 3,000m); Emmax Kiplagat, Florida A&M (5,000m); Alysha Evans, Hampton (4×400); Meshala Morton, Hampton (4×400); Erin Morrison, Hampton (4×400); Sashana Hinds, Hampton (4×400); Imani Coleman, North Carolina A&T State (DMR); Sun-Sara Williams, North Carolina A&T State (DMR); Kristoni Barnes, North Carolina A&T State (DMR); G’Jasmyne Butler, North Carolina A&T State (DMR); Khemani Roberts, Coppin State (HJ); Kourtney Sizemore, Savannah State (Pole); Jaelen Leonard, Hampton (LJ); Hanah Billups, Howard (TJ); Dominique Bynum-Cooper, Howard (Shot); Kristen Deacon, Coppin State (Weight); Imani McGhee, North Carolina A&T State (Pentathlon)

Courtesy: MEAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here