GREENSBORO, N.C. – before leading his team into the MEAC championship game on Saturday, North Carolina A&T head coach Rod Broadway was named to the coveted Eddie Robinson finalists list for NCAA FCS coach of the year on Tuesday.

STATS FCS released a fabulous list of 15 finalists with at least one representative from all 13 FCS conferences. STATS will present the esteemed Robinson Award at the national awards banquet on the eve of the NCAA Division I FCS Championship Game on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas. Named for legendary coach of Grambling State, past winners of the Robinson Award include Jim Tressel and Houston Nutt. [easyazon_infoblock align=”right” cart=”y” identifier=”B00IUCJI3A” locale=”US” tag=”hbcusports-20″]

Broadway has his team 9-1 on the season and 7-0 in the MEAC. The Aggies will play North Carolina Central for the conference championship 2 p.m., Saturday at O’Kelly-Riddick Stadium. Broadway is looking to lead the Aggies to their first undefeated season in the MEAC in 17 years. If the Aggies win, Broadway will lead the school to just its sixth undefeated season in conference play dating back to the Aggies days as a member of the CIAA.

During the 2016 season, Broadway has led the program to its first-ever win over a Division I-FBS win with a 39-36 four-overtime win over Ken State on Sept. 10. He also had two players – running back Tarik Cohen and linebacker Jeremy Taylor – win STATS FCS National Player of the Week at various times. In addition, the Aggies nine wins have been by an average score of 25.8 points.

Broadway is the second Aggie on an FCS STATS finalists list, joining Cohen who is a candidate for the Walter Payton Award for offensive player of the year.

A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the STATS FCS Eddie Robinson Award following the regular season. Also this season, STATS will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), the Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), the Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year) and the Doris Robinson FCS Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Courtesy: NCA&T Athletics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here