ATLANTA – The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) announced its 2015-16 Women’s Basketball Preseason Players of the Year, preseason teams, and predicted order of finish, Tuesday morning during Media Day at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Tucker, Ga.

Artisha Holston (R-Jr., Forward, 6’1, Butler, Ga.) of Albany State was named the the Preseason Player of the Year and Brittnee Hazel (Sr., Forward, 6’0, Loganville, Ga.) of Fort Valley State was selected as the Preseason Defensive Player of the Year.
Holston averaged 13.1 points per game last season and led the SIAC in rebounds (12.1 rpg). She helped the Lady Rams to a 19-10 record and 14-3 mark in conference play last year. Hazel finished the 2014-15 season averaging 13.2 points a game and 9.7 rebounds per game. She led the league in blocks (93), averaging 3.2 a game.

Hazel also recorded 56 steals, which ranked in the top 10 in the SIAC. Albany State claimed the top spot in the east division and tallied eight first-place votes.

Benedict finished second with three first-place votes, followed by Claflin, Paine, Clark Atlanta, and Fort Valley State.

Kentucky State was picked first in the west division and finished with nine firstplace votes. LeMoyne-Owen was second with two first-place votes, ahead of Spring Hill, Stillman, Central State, Tuskegee, Miles, and Lane.

2015-16 SIAC Preseason Team
Artisha Holston* Albany State
Brittnee Hazel* Fort Valley State
Shaia Horton* Kentucky State
Mykala Jones* Clark Atlanta
Keidra Green Albany State
KaDeeja Vaughn Benedict
Shaniece Brown Claflin
Sierra Bubb Clark Atlanta
Kourtni Perry Central State
Janisha Wilkerson Paine
Shereba Montgomery Fort Valley State
Tannasia Rhodes Paine
Jocelyn Ramos Stillman
Rachel Brownlee Tuskegee
Ieisha Young Albany State
*Denotes players who were automatically selected to preseason team as a result of earning 2014-15 postseason honors.

East Division (First place votes)
1. Albany State (8)
2. Benedict (3)
3. Claflin
4. Paine (1)
5. Clark Atlanta
6. Fort Valley State

West Division
1. Kentucky State (9)
2. LeMoyne-Owen (2)
3. Spring Hill (1)
4. Stillman (1)
5. Central State
6. Tuskegee
7. Miles
8. Lane (1)

Courtesy: SIAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here