Atlanta, Ga. — The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference  released their annual Football Preseason All-Conference Teams as voted on by the league’s head coaches on Monday, with a pair of Albany State players coming away with the top honors.

Taking home the Preseason Offensive Player of the Year award was a name familiar to those in the SIAC, running back Jarvis Small, who won the 2014 Offensive Player of the Year Award after leading the SIAC in rushing with 1,196 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Joining him in the superlatives is teammate Tavarius Washington, a senior linebacker who is the top returning tackler from a year ago recording 93 tackles, with 17.5 of those coming behind the line of scrimmage. In addition to these recognitions, both players were also placed on the Preseason All-Conference First Team.Highlighting the Second Team is 2014 Freshman of the Year, Tuskegee linebacker Osband Thompson. Thompson recorded 80 tackles last season, good enough for 12th best in the conference, while adding three sacks along the way.Three teams placed the most student-athletes on the two preseason squads, as Albany State, Central State and Tuskegee all had nine recipients, with ASU and TU having five selected to the first team.

In addition to the individual awards, the league also announced the projected order of finish for the 2015 season. Foreseeing a repeat of last season’s championship game, the coaches picked Albany State to win the East Division with six first place votes, and Tuskegee in the West Division in a unanimous decision.

Fort Valley State (3) and Benedict (2) were the only other schools to receive first place votes in their respective divisions.


Pre-Season Offensive Player of the Year
Jarvis Small (Albany State)

Pre-Season Defensive Player of the Year 
Tavarius Washington (Albany State)


Josh Straughan Stillman QB Monqavious Johnson Morehouse
Jarvis Small Albany State RB Otis Brown Fort Valley State
Jonathan Clark Miles RB Isaiah Grooms Central State
Drelon Freeman Fort Valley State WR Christopher Murray Central State
Marquel Gardner Tuskegee WR Devon Mann Morehouse
Zach Thomas Central State TE Leonard Walker Albany State
D’Mon Tucker Lane OL Kenneth Averhart Albany State
Javoris Wilburn Albany State OL Devin Radcliffe Central State
Tyree Bell Stillman OL Michael Brown Fort Valley State
Kelvin Shelton Tuskegee OL Justice Thomas Morehouse
Terrence Owens Miles OL Montell Collins Miles
Braysean Jones Miles DL Darian Hall Tuskegee
Artrell McMillan Central State DL Grover Stewart Albany State
Julian Morgan Tuskegee DL Tayvin Ziegler Central State
Jack Ndem Albany State DL Gabriel Mass Lane
Lydell Simon Kentucky State LB Osband Thompson Tuskegee
Jewell Ratliff Tuskegee LB Gervell Morgan Central State
Tavarius Washington Albany State LB Trevon Spencer Kentucky State
Will Lacy Lane DB Okoye Bozeman Central State
Brian Walker Fort Valley State DB Dashad Tucker Central State
Michael Robinson Tuskegee DB Jermaine Graham Kentucky State
Nick Scott Albany State DB Cedric Cuff Tuskegee
Juan Serna Fort Valley State K Zachery Gayden-Holley Albany State
Juan Serna Fort Valley State P Temitayo Argoro Morehouse
Corey Slaughter Kentucky State KR Darrius Mitchell Lane
Darius Mitchell Lane PR Devozea Gaines Tuskegee


EASTERN DIVISION                                        WESTERN DIVISION
Albany State University (6)                                     Tuskegee University (10) **
Fort Valley State University (3)                             Miles College
Benedict College (2)                                                 Stillman College
Morehouse College                                                   Central State University
Clark Atlanta University                                         Kentucky State University
Lane College


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here