Alabama State and Tennessee State have been selected to compete in the 2015 Preseason Women’s NIT.

The 16 team WNIT field, announced on Tuesday, consists of Alabama State; Baylor (Big 12); Chattanooga (Southern); Dartmouth (Ivy); DePaul (Big East); Drexel (Colonial); Indiana (Big Ten); Jacksonville (Atlantic Sun); McNeese State (Southland); Siena (Metro Atlantic); South Florida (American); Southern Illinois (MVC); Southern Miss (Conference USA); St. Bonaventure (Atlantic 10); Tennessee State (Ohio Valley); and UT Arlington (Sun Belt).

Ten of the 16 teams advanced to postseason play in 2015.  This is the Preseason WNIT debut for Alabama State, Jacksonville, Southern Miss, St. Bonaventure, Tennessee State and UT Arlington.

Alabama State went 17-15 during the 2014-15 regular season and won the SWAC championship before losing in the first round of the NCAA Tournament to Florida State.

Tennessee State won the Ohio Valley tournament and reached the NCAA Tournament for the first time in 20 years before losing to Kentucky and closing with an 18-13 mark.

The event is formatted to guarantee three games for each team.

The tournament opens Nov. 13 with Round one. Round two will be played Nov. 15-17; semifinals will be Nov. 19; and the championship is set for Sunday, Nov. 22.  The championship game will be nationally televised live on CBS Sports Network.

Tennessee State Sports Information  


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here