Texas Southern will travel to face Southern Mississippi tonight in the first round of the WNIT.

TSU (19-9, 16-1) ended the season winners of its last 14 games in a row and won the Southwestern Athletic Conference regular season championship.

They are led by Alexus Johnson 13.6 ppg, Brianna Sidney 11.5 ppg, and Diamonisha Sophus 11.0 ppg.  In only her second season has head coach, Johnetta Hayes-Perry was tabbed as the SWAC Coach of the Year.

Southern Miss finished the season with a 22-10 overall record and 13-5 in Conference USA. The Golden Eagles squared off with one team from the SWAC in November and the was Mississippi Valley State in a 69-51 victory.

Tip-off time is set for 6p.m.

The 64-team tournament is a single-elimination event with all games played at sites of host schools. The WNIT is committed to offering deserved opportunities to women’s basketball programs, and the 2015 Postseason WNIT features a full 64-team bracket.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here