BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference released its 2014 all-conference teams Friday and saw the big winners spread across the league with two co-players of the year.  First year Grambling State University head coach Broderick Fobbs was named Coach of the Year.

Malcolm Cyrus of Alabama State University and John Gibbs, Jr. from Alcorn State University shared co-offensive player of the year honors. Texas Southern’s Darian Claibourne, and Mississippi Valley State’s Quantavius Peterson shared newcomer of the year.  Prairie View A&M University’s Jerome Howard earned the defensive player of the year award, and western division champion Southern University’s quarterback Austin Howard was named freshman of the year.

Cyrus led the SWAC and finished third in the nation with 1,662 yards rushing, scoring 12 touchdowns.  The senior also caught 28 passes for another 380 yards and a score.  After clocking an additional 34 yards in kick returns, Cyrus finished with over 2,000 all-purpose yards, fourth best in the nation.

Gibbs led the Braves to an eastern division title and the team’s first berth to the conference championship game.  He completed 169-of-294 passes for a total of 2,237 yards, 18 touchdowns and has been intercepted only six times.  His dominance in the air was only matched by his ability to leave the pocket as he grabbed a career-high 874 yards this season and another 11 touchdowns.  He ranks third in the league in passing efficiency.

Howard led all defensive players averaging 11.8 tackles per game.  He finished fifth national in total tackles with 118, second in the league.  The linebacker is also ranked top 10 in the SWAC for tackles for loss and sacks.  He earned 10-plus tackles in eight of the team’s 10 games.  The preseason All-SWAC first teamer has also earned College Football Performance Award weekly honors this season.

Claiborne stepped up in the Tigers front seven and immediately began to make an impact.  He led with a team-high 77 tackles.  He had five tackles for loss and also grabbed an interception this season.  Peterson, who has earned SWAC newcomer of the week honors, finished the year with 874 passing yards and six touchdowns.  The quarterback also rushed 297 yards and five touchdowns.

Howard led the Jaguars to their second consecutive SWAC Championship appearance as a true freshman.  He has thrown for over 2,100 yards and 17 touchdowns this season.  Howard passed for over 200 yards in five games and closed out the regular season with four rushing touchdowns.

Malcolm Cyrus (Alabama State)
John Gibbs, Jr. (Alcorn State)

Jerome Howard (Prairie View A&M)

Darian Claibourne (Texas Southern)
Quantavius Peterson (Mississippi Valley State)

Austin Howard (Southern)

QB John Gibbs, Jr. Alcorn State
RB Malcolm Cyrus Alabama State
RB Johntá Hebert Prairie View A&M
OL DeWayne Houston Southern
OL Zach Brown Southern
OL Isaac Sampson Alcorn State
OL Tre Glover Prairie View A&M
OL Damina Love Alabama State
WR Julian Stafford Mississippi Valley State
WR Willie Quinn Southern
TE Jordan Payne Alcorn State

DL Arthur Miley Southern
DL Deion Roberson Alcorn State
DL Demarcus Berry Arkansas-Pine Bluff
DL Darien Moody Alcorn State
LB Jerome Howard Prairie View A&M
LB Kourtney Berry Alabama State
LB Danny Brownell Prairie View A&M
DB Devon Francois Alcorn State
DB Najee Bright Alabama State
DB Warren Gatewood Alcorn State
DB Kevin Rucker Arkansas-Pine Bluff

K Chris Barrick Prairie View A&M
P Corey Carter Texas Southern
RS Johntá Hebert Prairie View A&M

QB Johnathan Williams Grambling
RB Lenard Tillery Southern
RB Anthony Williams III Alcorn State
OL Demechery Hickingbottom Alabama State
OL Detonio Dade Alcorn State
OL Dillon Bonnet Prairie View A&M
OL Jonathan Smith Jackson State
OL Marcus Cook Jackson State
WR Daniel Williams Jackson State
WR Willie Young Arkansas-Pine Bluff
TE Natron Brooks Mississippi Valley State

DL Anthony Lanier Alabama A&M
DL Edward Mosley Alabama State
DL Devohn Reed Prairie View A&M
DL Gabe Echols Southern
LB Damon Watkins Alcorn State
LB Willie Duncan Arkansas-Pine Bluff
LB Ariane McCree Jackson State
DB Danny Johnson Southern
DB Avery Boykin Mississippi Valley State
DB Damond Jackson Prairie View A&M
DB Tray Walker Texas Southern

K Ryan Deising Jackson State
K Haiden McCraney Alcorn State
P Haiden McCraney Alcorn State
RS Willie Quinn Southern

Courtesy: SWAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here