ATLANTA – Fort Valley State linebacker LeRon Furr and Albany State running back Jarvis Small received the top honors as the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) announced its 2014 Football All-Conference teams. The selections were made by the league’s head coaches.

Furr was named the SIAC Most Valuable Player and Defensive Player of the Year after a stellar senior campaign. He led the Wildcats and finished tied for first in total tackles with 108 (49 solo) averaging 10.8 per game. He also tacked on 16.5 tackles for loss (3rd in the league) and two sacks. Furr was selected player of the week on two occasions.

The 2014 SIAC Offensive Player of the Year, Small led the Golden Rams and the league in rushing, finishing with 1,129 yards on the ground and 12 touchdowns. Averaging 125.4 yards per game, Small averaged 5.5 yards per rush while leading the league in points scored per game. He is currently riding a seven game streak rushing for at least 100 yards. He was twice named SIAC Offensive Player of the Week.

Cameron Stover (Benedict) was named the league’s Newcomer of the Year. Stover led the league in total offensive yards (251.1 yards per game) and passing yards per game (237.3 pass yards per outing).

Terrance Montgomery (Clark Atlanta) and Osband Thompson (Tuskegee) were voted the co-freshman of the year. Montgomery finished the season with 51 total tackles while Thompson finished 12th in the league averaging seven tackles per game (63 total stops).

The coach of the year honors, coincidentally, goes to the two coaches in Saturday’s football championship contest. Albany State’s Mike White led the Golden Rams to a 7-2 overall record and a 7-0 conference mark while Tuskegee’s Willie Slater finished with a 8-2 mark and a 7-0 SIAC record.

Tuskegee led the field with 10 selections including a league best, five players on the first team. Albany State followed with nine selections with four receiving first team honors. Fort Valley State had six selections with Miles and Stillman recording five. Lane and Central State had four and three All-SIAC selections, respectively. Benedict and Kentucky State each had two players honored. Clark Atlanta, Morehouse and Paine had one player apiece selected.

SIAC Football Player of the Year (MVP)
LeRon Furr (Fort Valley State)

Offensive Player of the Year
Jarvis Small (Albany State)

Defensive Player of the Year
LeRon Furr (Fort Valley State)

Newcomer of the Year
Cameron Stover (Benedict)

Co Freshman of the Year
Terrance Montgomery (Clark Atlanta)
Osband Thompson (Tuskegee)

Co Coach of the Year
Mike “James” White (Albany State)
Willie Slater (Tuskegee)

QB – Josh Straughan (Stillman)
RB – Jarvis Small (Albany State)
RB – Jacquise Lockett (Kentucky State)
WR – Drelon Freeman (Fort Vallley State)
WR – Antonio Pitts (Miles)
TE – Tahj Dent (Tuskegee)
OL – Jamil McKenzie (Tuskegee)
OL – Matthew Reese (Tuskegee)
OL – Darrius Moore (Tuskegee)
OL – Victor Moli (Albany State)
OL – Terrence Owens (Miles)

DL – Braysean Jones (Miles)
DL – Artell McMillan (Central State)
DL – Bernard Little (Fort Valley State)
DL – Craig Drummond (Lane)
LB – LeRon Furr (Fort Valley State)
LB – Bre’nard Williams (Clark Atlanta)
LB – Tavarius Washington (Albany State)
DB – Travis Lee (Miles)
DB – Brian Walker (Fort Valley State)
DB – Michael Robinson (Tuskegee)
DB – Cameron Stallings (Stillman)

K / P – Juan Serna (Fort Valley State)
KR – Hoderick Lowe (Tuskegee)
PR – Darius Mitchell (Lane)

QB – Cameron Stover (Benedict)
RB – Jovontae Thurmon (Stillman)
RB – Hoderick Lowe (Tuskegee)
WR – Kendariss Brown (Benedict)
WR – Dondre Purnell (Stillman)
TE – Zack Thomas (Central State)
OL – Danny Bunch (Albany State
OL – Javoris Wilburn (Albany State)
OL – Tyree Bell (Stillman)
OL – Eddie Thomas (Miles)
OL – Brandon Baker (Fort Valley State)

DL – Jack Ndem (Albany State)
DL – Grover Stewart (Albany State)
DL – Julian Morgan (Tuskegee)
DL – Gabriel Mass (Lane)
LB – El’Malik Chinn (Tuskegee)
LB – Lydell Simon (Kentucky State)
LB – Jawell Ratliff (Tuskegee)
DB – Joseph Blount (Central State)
DB – Keionten Miller (Albany State)
DB – Will Lacy (Lane)
DB – Calvin Harris (Albany State)

Courtesy: SIAC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here