Robert Simpson

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I College football, recently announced its watch list for defensive lineman and Mississippi Valley State’s Robert Simpson earned a spot on the list.

Last season, Simpson, a Gulfport native, led the FCS in tackles for loss with 22.5 and ranked third in the SWAC in sacks with seven. He also recovered two fumbles and had 59 tackles.
“Congratulations to MVSU’s Simpson on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List,” said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. “Under Coach Karl Morgan, Simpson will be one of the top players to watch in 2013.”

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Past CFPA winners include: Colin Kaepernick (Nevada), Trent Richardson (Alabama), Dez Bryant (Oklahoma State), Kendall Wright (Baylor), Whitney Mercilus (Illinois), Von Miller (Texas A&M), Patrick Peterson (LSU), Lance Kendricks (Wisconsin), C.J. Spiller (Clemson), Sam Acho (Texas), Chas Henry (Florida), and Bryan Anger (California).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

Courtesy: MVSU Sports Information


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here