Prairie View swept the season ending awards for 2011-12 by capturing the Sadie Magee/Barbara Jacket Award, the C.D. Henry Award, and the James Frank Award which were presented at the spring meetings.

The Panthers made a clean sweep of the post-season awards.

The Magee/Jacket Award is presented for achievement in women’s sports within the SWAC. Prairie View won just one team title in the 10-sport standings as the bowling team captured its first-ever title. The women’s basketball tournament title that the Panthers won does not count in the regular season standings, which determines the commissioner’s cup points. Even still, PV outpaced second place Alabama State by 6.5 points in the final women’s standings.

The Henry Award is presented for achievement in men’s sports within the SWAC. Prairie View won just one men’s team tiel in the 8-sport standings as the baseball team closed out the SWAC championship season this spring with its first championship since 2007. The Panthers were 16 points better in the men’s commissioner’s cup race than second place Alabama State.

The Frank Award is presented for the combined achievement of the men’s and women’s programs within the SWAC. Prairie View finished well ahead of second place Alabama State. Mississippi Valley State finished third overall.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here