The Dr. Cavil’s HBCU Men’s Mid-Major Division Basketball Top 10, with number of first-place votes, record in parentheses, total points, previous ranking, and next opponent:

Name——————–Record–1PV-Points-PWR—Last Game-Next Game(s)-(3/9/11-3/15/11)
1. &-Tougaloo————-(27-4)-(6)—97—-2—-(Beat Xavier,(93-80OT), NAIA DI Tournament)
2. %-Benedict————-(21-7)-(3)—88—-3—-(Lost to Clark-Atlanta,(75-52), NCAA DII Tournament)
3. Xavier-(LA)————(27-5)——-73—-4—-(Lost to Tougaloo,(93-80OT), NAIA DI Tournament)
4. $-Bowie State———-(22-5)-(1)—72—-1—-(Lost to Johnson C. Smith,(82-66), NCAA DII Tournament)
5. ~-Clark-Atlanta——–(22-8)——-62—-10—(Beat Stillman,(78-71), NCAA DII Tournament)
6. ^-Shaw—————–(22-8)——-51—-8—-(Beat Livingstone,(72-69), NCAA DII Tournament)
7. Stillman—————(22-7)——-43—-5—-(Lost to Clark-Atlanta,(78-71), NCAA DII Tournament)
8. #-Winston-Salem State–(19-7)——-29—-6—-(Lost to Fayetteville St,(66-63), NCAA DII Tournament)
9. Tuskegee—————(19-9)——-16—-7—-(Lost to Stillman,(99-81), Season Complete)
10. Paul Quinn————-(21-11)——14—-NR—(Lost to Texas Wesleyan,(78-68), Season Complete)

Dropped Out: Texas College-(15-13)

Receiving Votes: Texas College-(15-13)-6, Virginia Union-(15-9)-3, Elizabeth City State-(18-10)-3,
Cheney-(19-9)-2, Johnson C. Smith-(17-11)-1

PWR = Previous Week Ranking
1PV = 1st Place Votes

# = Winston-Salem St – CIAA Southern Division Champions, $ = Bowie St – CIAA Northern Division Champion
^ = Shaw – CIAA Tournament Champions
% = Benedict – SIAC Regular Season Champions
~ = Clark-Atlanta – SIAC Tournament Champions
& = Tougaloo – GCAC Regular Season Champions and GCAC Tournament Champions

@ = St. Augustine’s – TSPN & 3C 2009-2010 HBCU Basketball Men’s Mid-Major Division National Champion

Major Division = NCAA Division II, NAIA Division I and NAIA Division II


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here