The Dr. Cavil’s HBCU Men’s Major Division Basketball Top 10, with number of first-place votes, record in parentheses, total points, previous ranking, and next opponent:

Name——————-Record–1PV-Points-PWR–Last Game-Next Game-(3/8/11-3/14/11)
1. #-Bethune-Cookman–(20-11)-(6)—94—-1—(Beat Florida A & M,(73-71OT), *MEAC Tournament)
2. %-Texas Southern—(18-11)-(4)—93—-2—(Beat Alcorn St,(79-68), **SWAC Tournament)
3. Hampton————(21-8)——–88—-3—(Beat Howard,(83-72), *MEAC Tournament)
4. Coppin State——-(16-13)——-75—-5—(Beat Morgan St,(73-60), *MEAC Tournament)
5. @-Morgan State—–(15-13)——-67—-4—(Lost to Coppin St,(73-60), *MEAC Tournament)
6. Jackson State——(16-14)——-42—-7—(Beat Alabama A & M,(72-64), **SWAC Tournament)
7. N. C. Central——(15-14)——-39—-9—(Beat S. C. St,(78-62), *MEAC Tournament)
8. N. C. A & T State–(15-16)——-27—-6—(Lost to Norfolk St,(75-57), *MEAC Tournament)
9. Alabama State——(14-17)——-21—-NR–(Lost to Grambling St,(74-73), **SWAC Tournament)
10. Alabama A & M——(13-14)——-12—-8—(Lost to Jackson St,(72-64), **SWAC Tournament)

Dropped Out: Tennessee State-(14-16)

Receiving Votes: Tennessee State-(14-16)-11, Miss. Valley State-(13-18)-2, Florida A & M-(12-19)-1

*Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Tournament = Winston-Salem, NC – # = Bethune-Cookman 2010-2011 Regular Season Champions
**Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Tournament = Garland, TX – % = Texas Southern 2010-2011 Regular Season Champions

PWR = Previous Week Ranking
1PV = 1st Place Votes

@ = TSPN & 3C 2009-2010 HBCU Basketball Men’s Major Division National Champion

Major Division = NCAA Division I


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here