11 others earn Honorable Mention honors

SWAC Coach of the Year Henry Frazier and SWAC Defensive Player of the Year DE Christian Anthony are among 16 Conference representatives on the College Sporting News 2009 FCS Fabulous Fifty All-American Team.

Frazier, head coach of the 2009 SWAC Football Champion Prairie View A&M Panthers, was named Coach of the Year after guiding PV to their second consecutive 9-1 season and their first SWAC football title since 1964.

Four SWAC defensive players earned first team All-America honors, highlighted by Grambling DE Christian Anthony, who was one of 10 unanimous selections on the team. Joining Anthony with first-team honors were DL Jared Green of Mississippi Valley State, DB Jason House of Southern and S Anthony Beck of Prairie View A&M.

A total of 11 other SWAC players earned Honorable Mention honors – QB K.J. Black (Prairie View A&M), C Xavier Manuel (Alabama A&M), G Robert Ogletree (Mississippi Valley State), WR Juamorris Stewart (Southern), LBs Dejuan Fulghum (Texas Southern) and Adrian Hardy (Alabama State), CB De’Markus Washington (Texas Southern), CB/S Kerry Hoskins (Jackson State), P Pedro Ventura (Prairie View A&M), KR Mareo Howard (Univ. Arkansas-Pine Bluff), and PR Kiare Thompson (Grambling State).

Including the honorable mention selections, 138 student-athletes from 70 schools are represented. Unlike other All-American teams, the CSN honor’s squad is designed to be like a real team, capable of taking the field and competing in a game. It includes everything from quarterbacks who can run or pass, often overlooked fullbacks, to a long snapper and other special teams performers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here