swac.gifTexas Southern will look to repeat ’08 title run

The final SWAC Championship of the year commences Wednesday with seven teams looking to dethrone Texas Southern.

#3 East seed Alcorn State will play #2 West seed Univ. Arkansas-Pine Bluff at 9 a.m. Game 2 will feature #3 West seed Grambling State, which clinched a tournament berth Saturday with a win, taking on #2 East seed Jackson State at noon.

The top divisional seeds will be in action later in the day. At 3 p.m. #1 East seed Mississippi Valley State will take on #4 West seed and 2008 defending champion Texas Southern. The final game of the day will feature #1 West seed Southern facing #4 East seed Alabama A&M at 6 p.m.

Action will continue Thursday and Friday with four games each day at 9 a.m., Noon, 3 p.m., and 6 p.m. Saturday, a pair of ‘if necessary’ games are scheduled for Noon and 3 p.m..

Sunday, the championship game will be played at 1 p.m. and televised on tape-delay basis later that day at 7 p.m. on ESPNU.

Tournament Bracket

Wednesday, May 20
Game 1 Alcorn St. vs. Univ. Arkansas-Pine Bluff 9 a.m.
Game 2 Grambling St. vs. Jackson St. Noon
Game 3 Texas Southern vs. Mississippi Valley St. 3 p.m.
Game 4 Alabama A&M vs. Southern 6:00 p.m.

Thursday, May 21
Game 5 Game 1 loser vs. Game 3 loser 9:00 a.m.
Game 6 Game 2 loser vs. Game 4 loser Noon
Game 7 Game 1 winner vs. Game 3 winner 3:00 p.m.
Game 8 Game 2 winner vs. Game 4 winner 6:00 p.m.

Friday, May 22
Game 9 Game 5 winner vs. Game 7 Loser 9:00 a.m.
Game 10 Game 6 winner vs. Game 8 Loser Noon
Game 11 Game 7 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner 3:00 p.m.
Game 12 Game 8 Winner vs. Game 10 Winner 6:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 23
Game 13 (if necessary) Game 11 winner vs. Game 11 loser Noon
Game 14 (if necessary) Game 12 winner vs. Game 12 loser 3 p.m.

Sunday, May 24
Game 15 Championship Game 1:00 p.m


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here