Baton Rouge, La. – The Tigers of Texas Southern defeated Prairie View A&M 12-11 in the 2008 Southwestern Athletic Conference Baseball Tournament championship game in Lee-Hines Stadium on the campus of Southern University.

The Tigers (16-32) cruised through the tournament in the winner’s bracket with a 4-0 tournament record. This is Texas Southern’s second title since 2004 when they beat Mississippi Valley State for the championship.

The Panthers (25-26) jumped out to a 2-0 lead in the first inning, when TSU answered back with two runs on a Prairie View error. Texas Southern led 5-2 when the Panthers scored on a sac fly by shortstop John Villapando sent Greg Fort in for a run and a RBI single by first baseman Michael Richard sent Odie Davis to the home plate.

Prairie View led 11-7 in the bottom of the eighth inning when TSU’s Jordan Bush hit a double to bring in Justin Holloway for the win. Designated hitter Adam Sellers hit a single to send two Tigers in to take a 12-11 lead. David Arredondo held strong on the mound to preserve the victory.

TSU’s Earnest Rhone went 2-for-4 with one RBI. Sellers was 1-for-4, but knocked in 4 crucial RBIs for the Tigers.

Wilford White was 3-for-5 with one triple and one RBI for the Panthers.


Pitcher: Rashad Ford , Texas Southern

Pitcher: Josh Lara, Prairie View A&M

Catcher: Justin Holloway, Texas Southern

First Baseman: Myrio Richard, Prairie View A&M

Second Baseman: Enrique Quintero, Jackson State

Third Baseman: Michael Gavion, Southern

Shortstop: Jordan Bush, Texas Southern

Designated Hitter: Greg Ford, Prairie View A&M

Left Field: Brandon Kendricks, Prairie View A&M

Center Field: Oscar Goldman, Prairie View A&M

Right Field: Willie Mays, Miss. Valley State

MVP: Adam Sellers, Texas Southern

Coach of the Year: Candy Robinson, Texas Southern


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here