swac.gifThe Southwestern Athletic Conference announces its 2007 All-Conference football selections highlighted by ten repeat selections from last season. The teams were selected by nominations and votes from the member schools’ coaches and sports information contacts along with selected members of the media.

Nine of the 10 SWAC schools had a representative on the first-team All-SWAC squad; Alabama A&M led the list with six while Jackson State had four. Alabama State, Grambling State and Southern each had three first-team selections. Mississippi Valley State and Alcorn State had two selections while Arkansas-Pine Bluff and Prairie View A&M had one selection each.

Alabama A&M and Southern led all schools with nine players each on the first and second units. Arkansas-Pine Bluff and Jackson State each followed with six total selections. Both Grambling State and Prairie View A&M each had five selections while Alabama State and Alcorn State had four selections. Mississippi Valley State and Texas Southern each had two selections to the squads.

There were a total of 27 seniors chosen for all-conference selection (13 on first team). Thirteen juniors (five on first team) were chosen as well as nine sophomores (five on first team) and two freshmen.

This year’s honors include a number of players who were named all-conference at the conclusion of the 2006 season: RB/KR Ulysses Banks (Alabama A&M); OL Ivora Hall (Alabama State); OL Thaddeus Coleman (Mississippi Valley State); TE Charles Moody (Alabama A&M); WR Clyde Edwards (Grambling State); RB Jay Peck (Alabama State); DL Ronald Green (Mississippi Valley State); DB Jarmaul George (Southern); WR Gerard Landry (Southern) and DT Corey Clark (Jackson State).

The conference specialty awards will be announced on Tuesday: Newcomer of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year.

View the complete team at Onnidan.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here